Research Guides: SSW : Social Work: Evidence-Based Practice / Health

Evidence-Based Practice

Campbell Collaboration Library of Systematic Reviews A major source of research in evidence-based practice. Offers review of the impact of social service programs.
The Cochrane Library Research in evidence-based health care practice. Browse or search for disorders to find abstracts and texts through the Cochrane Reviews of medical, health and mental health treatments.
TRIP database (Turning Research Into Practice) Clinical search engine for quick access to evidence-based content, online since 1997.
Evidenced-Based Practice (Social Work Policy Institute) Lists of registries and databases.
National Guideline Clearinghouse Structured, standardized summaries of clinical practice guidelines for physicians & other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers, etc.

Social Work Reference Center [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Evidence-based collection including care sheets, quick lessons, skill competency checklists, clinical assessment tools, practice guidelines, drug information, continuing education modules & patient education information.

Alcohol Studies Database From the Scholarly Communication Center, the Center of Alcohol Studies, and the Rutgers University Libraries. Over 70,000 citations.
CORK Database 1970-2014. Project Cork Subject Bibliographies & Database, on alcohol and substance abuse, preserved by Hazelden Betty Ford Foundation. Includes over 121,000 records for journal articles, books, book chapters and reports.

Gale OneFile Health & Medicine (formerly Health Reference Center) This link opens in a new window Articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, and related topics.
PTSDpubs [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window Index to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. Formerly PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress.
PubMed (Medline) 1950s+ This link opens in a new window Lists over 14 million biomedical articles back to the 1950's. Check out the PubMed Tutorial.

SSW785: Evidence-Based Practice in Social Work
Use this class guide to find tips and tutorials on how to use many of the resources for Evidence Based Practice Research