EBP Library Video & Slides
- Evidence Based Research - Introduction 2021 This video introduces students to the research resources they need to complete assignments in SSW 785, Evidence Based Practice. Find the accompanying slides here: https://bit.ly/785introslides
Background & Foreground
Login to Moodle to look for links provided by your professor.
Slides introducing research for evidence based searching (June 2021): bit.ly/785introslides
The Encyclopedia of Social Work by Browse or search topics . Articles include references.
- DSM Library This link opens in a new windowFull text versions of all editions of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders plus related current casebooks and handbooks.
Working with MOLES
- Planning a Search With the Help of MOLES (Methodology Oriented Locaters for Evidence Searching)Includes sample search planning sheets
Search for Systematic Reviews
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowResearch in evidence-based health care practice. Browse topics or search for disorders and find abstracts and texts through the Cochrane Reviews of medical, health and mental health treatments.
- Campbell CollaborationMajor source of systematic reviews of research evidence on the effectiveness of social interventions. Includes advanced search of reviews
What’s the difference between a literature review and a systematic review?
PsycINFO, MEDLINE / PubMed, Google Scholar
Use links on the Articles page of this guide.
EBP resources & databases on the web
- Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center (SAMHSA) tools and resources related to prevention, treatment, and recovery support services for mental and substance use disorders
- Effective Child Therapy [ Society of Clinical Child and Adolescent Psychology] Evidence-based mental health treatment for children and adolescents
- Information for Practice [New York University]IFP includes Advanced Search and Browse Key Journals
- TRIP database (Turning Research Into Practice)Clinical search engine for quick access to evidence-based content, online since 1997.
Ask Us - Meet with Us
Library Research Videos
- Welcome to the Smith College Libraries '21 This video will provide a brief introduction to the Smith College Libraries and the many remote resources available to School for Social Work students.
- Combining Database Searching in EBSCO Watch this video to learn how to search multiple EBSCO databases at once (requires a Smith Login).
- Connecting Google Scholar with Smith College Libraries [2'53"] How to sign in and use Google Scholar settings to add Smith College Libraries to library links for "full text @ smith"
- Introduction to Zotero In this video learn about the citation management tool Zotero and how it can help you to organize and manage your research materials.
Support During Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19)
- Library Services During COVID-19 hours, availability of online resources and physical collections, services for faculty and more information
- SC COVID-19 Response Plan updates, restrictions, cancellations, more information
- Digital Support for SSW Students 2021 resources, technology request forms, information on courses and support