Core Databases
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Complete full text articles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus eBooks. JSTOR’s image search (formerly Artstor) contains more than 2+ million images. It includes Smith College collections developed to meet teaching needs in the arts, humanities, and sciences, as well as images of works from the Smith College Museum.
-
ETHXWeb. 1974-2009. (National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature) An open-access database of journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audiovisuals, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics. Not maintained beyond 2011, but still very useful.
-
PhilPapers This link opens in a new windowComprehensive open access index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by a community of philosophers that includes journal articles, books, and archives.
More Databases
-
Arts & Humanities Citation Index [Web of Science] 1975+ This link opens in a new window Bibliographic and citation information for journal articles from over 1,700 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.
-
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials [EBSCO] 1949+ This link opens in a new window Covers religious and theological scholarship in 1,400 international journals and 14,000 books. Includes citations and some full text.
-
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective [EBSCO] 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window Indexes 1,200 scholarly journals and specialized magazines in the social sciences and humanities; with citations to book reviews.
-
Index Islamicus [EBSCO] 1906+ This link opens in a new window Lists articles, books, essays, reviews on Islam, the Middle East & the Muslims worldwide. Covers art, archaeology, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, politics, religion, sciences, etc.
-
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts [ProQuest] 1973+ This link opens in a new window Abstracts of journal articles, books, chapters, dissertations, & book reviews on phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax & semantics, and more.
-
PhilPapers PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. We monitor journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages.