Congratulations Professor of Chemistry, Kevin Shea, on your recently published OER: Organic Synthesis
As well as your recently adapted textbook for CHM 223: Organic Chemistry II
Congratulations Professor of French Studies, Hèléne Visentin, on your recently published OER: La Princesse de Clèves by Lafayette: A New Translation and Bilingual Pedagogical Edition for the Digital Age
Congratulations Professor of Philosophy/Logic, Albert Mosley, ~150,000 downloads of your OER!: An Introduction to Logic: From Everyday Life to Formal Systems
See all of the Smith OER collection in ScholarWorks.
This video gives an overview of how to find OER on Google.
BCcampus Open Textbook Collection — Open textbooks for an array of subjects, reviewed by faculty.
Coerll: Collection of openly licensed language learning resources. Languages include French, German, Chinese, Japanese, Spanish and more. Created by the University of Texas at Austin.
DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books) — DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available. Not necessary OER, but all open and free to read.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) — DOAJ is one a several good directories for open access journals and articles. Not necessarily OER, but all open and free to read.
LibreTexts: A multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning. The LibreTexts approach is a highly collaborative open access textbook environment is under constant revision by students, faculty, and outside experts with the aim of supplanting conventional paper-based books. Created by UC Davis.
Luminos: Publisher of Open Access monographs. Supported by the University of California Press and costs are shared among libraries, author or institution and the publisher.
Milne Open Textbooks (formerly: SUNY Open Textbooks) - Collection of open textbooks produced and published by State University of New York schools. Supported by the SUNY Initiative Technology Grant.
Open Book Publishers: Publishers of Open Access monographs and textbooks in all areas.
OpenStax: A large collection of peer-reviewed intro-level textbooks in all disciplines hosted by Rice University.
Open Textbook Library: Collection of peer-reviewed textbooks on a broader array of subjects, including advanced topics, hosted by University of Minnesota.
Pressbooks Directory: Pressbooks Directory is a free, searchable catalog that includes 5,331 open access books published by 156 organizations and networks using Pressbooks.
UMN Open Textbook Library: Collection of openly licensed textbooks. Books within the Open Textbook Library must be peer reviewed for quality and have multiple criteria for inclusion within the library. Supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Education Network.
OER Creative Commons: OER repositories and resource list: textbooks, classes, modules, images, video, audio, simulation and animation, complete courses.
OER Commons: Offers a wide range of subjects and levels. As a member of the OER Commons, Smith is a provider to the Commons, and Open Massachusetts: A Public Higher Education Repository, has a hub there as well, committed to achieving equitable access for all students.
OAPEN: The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.
OASIS: OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search) offers the ability to search a range of OER materials from multiple sources, such as textbooks, courses, corresponding materials, interactive simulations, and public domain books and resources.
Merlot: One of the biggest OER repositories: also includes peer-reviewed lessons, videos, and exercises on a broad variety of topics from beginner to advanced levels. The materials can be ranked and many are peer-reviewed. There are discipline specific Communities that curate and review the content.
Mason OER Metafinder: Searches 15 OER repositories simultaneously.
Skills Commons: World’s Largest OPEN Library of Workforce Training Materials Designed for 21st Century Employment.
Teaching Commons: The Teaching Commons showcases high-quality OER from leading colleges and universities hosted on the Digital Commons platform.
Khan Academy: Specializes in video tutorials and interactive quizzes. Khan is strongest in math and science, but also has modules in history, economics, and computing. Most topics tend to be at the primary to secondary school level.
Saylor OER Courses by Subject: OER courses by subject/class created for instructors building open courses.
MIT Open Courseware: MIT OpenCourseWare is an online publication of materials from over 2,500 MIT courses, freely sharing knowledge with learners and educators around the world.
nanoHUB: Provides over 1600 open teaching and learning resources: online presentations; course material; learning modules; podcasts; simulation tools. Created by the NSF-funded Network for Computational Nanotechnology.
#OpenCourseWare: An open and free e-learning platform for individual learners and educational institutes with free integrated textbooks and completion certificates.
Academic Earth: Curated lists of online courses are hand selected to show the very best offerings by subject area.
HathiTrust digital library contains millions of public domain books that can be downloaded, including a collection for United Stated Federal Government Documents Registry.
The Internet Archive contains many public domain materials.
The The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Many items are in the public domain, check copyright status.
Government documents (with some minor exceptions) are in the public domain: Congress.gov, Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, Census publications, Census data
Consider filling in some of the gaps by using Smith library resources, such as ebooks and articles.
Palace Bookshelf: A collection of more than 15,000 open access ebooks available for free download. The collection includes classics, children’s books, textbooks, foreign language titles, and more. Made available from the Digital Public Library of America.
OERS in Smith ScholarWorks collections currently include open textbooks, video courses, open labs, and tutorials allowing faculty the opportunity to produce, teach, and engage with free, customizable, and openly-licensed materials. We are working with faculty to expand and build upon our open resource collections.
For faculty members interested in exploring how to create OERS or add their existing open educational resources to ScholarWorks, email scholarworks@smith.edu.
