Neuroscience Databases
- Cogprints Archive of full-text e-prints and other articles in the behavioral sciences and related fields.
- PsycARTICLES [EBSCO] 1988+ This link opens in a new window Full text articles from APA and selected Educational Publishing Foundation journals.
- PsycINFO [EBSCO] 1887+ This link opens in a new window Worldwide coverage of 1300+ journals, books and dissertations in the behavioral sciences, psychology, mental health, medicine, etc.
- PubMed (Medline) 1950s+ This link opens in a new window Lists over 14 million biomedical articles back to the 1950's. Check out the PubMed Tutorial.
General Science Databases
- Web of Science 1898+ This link opens in a new window (Formerly Web of Knowledge) Indexes and abstracts science & technology journals (1899+), social science journals (1898+), and arts & humanities journals (1975+) published around the world; offers cited reference searching.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Largest abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature in all disciplines. Covers articles, books, conference proceedings & patents. Incorporates smart tools to track, analyze & visualize research.
- Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Full text for 10,000+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences from around the world.
- Biological Abstracts [Web of Science] 1926+ This link opens in a new window Indexes articles in the life sciences and biomedical fields: biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, zoology, agriculture, etc.
- General Science Abstracts [EBSCO] 1984+ (subscription ends 1/1/25) This link opens in a new window Provides indexing & abstracts of articles from almost 300 U.S. and British journals and magazines on astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and more.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Links to scholarly books, articles and more. Results are incomplete and vary greatly by subject. Always use the libraries' research databases for a complete search of scholarly topics.
- Gale OneFile Health & Medicine (formerly Health Reference Center) This link opens in a new window Articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, and related topics.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new window Indexes 2500 journals and 6000 books in science, technology and the social sciences from Elsevier Science.
Science Librarian
Get Citation Help
Get help with articles
- Citing your sources Smith Libraries guide links to online versions of MLA, Chicago, and other popular manuals for writing papers and formatting footnote and bibliography citations. Includes a section on how to cite images.