Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Dance-Related Encyclopedias
International Encyclopedia of Dance
Covers cultural dance plus entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performance, and biographies of dancers and choreographers. The print publication contains images not found in the online publication.
The Dance Heritage Coalition
Includes links to finding aids for dance archives, as well as information on best procedures for documenting and preserving dance materials.
Society of Dance History Scholars
Primary dance research organization in the US. Advances the field of dance studies through research, publication, performance, and outreach to audiences across the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Congress on Research in Dance (CORD)
Provides opportunities for dance professionals from a broad range of specialties to exchange ideas, resources, and methodologies through publication, international and regional conferences, and workshops. *Conference proceedings are now available through paid subscription through Cambridge University Press.*
National Dance Education Organization
NDEO provides professional development, networking forums, honor societies, journals, research and advocacy tools for teachers, administrators and students in the field of dance arts education.
Dance Notation Bureau
Mission is to advance the art of dance through the use of a system of notation.