Critical, alternative reporting and analysis, focusing on state power, political economy and social hierarchies as well as popular struggles and the role of US policy in the region. A registered 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, MERIP publishes a quarterly online magazine, Middle East Report, as well as frequent articles and educational primers.
An independent ezine produced by the Arab Studies Institute that combines local knowledge, scholarship, and advocacy with an eye to audiences in the United States, the Middle East, and beyond. The site currently publishes posts in Arabic, French, English, and Turkish.
A news service providing translations into English from a wide variety of news sources located in all 22 Arabic-speaking countries, Iran, and the Arab media diaspora generally. Most of the articles include links back to the original website of the source. Coverage back to 2005.
An international newsstand right on your desktop! Online access to over 7300 newspapers from 152 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title. Searches can be done in Arabic script. In most cases, a 60-day news archive is available.
An international, multilingual community of writers, translators, and human rights activists that verifies and translates trending news and stories from blogs, independent press, and social media around the world. News items are translated from and into a wide variety of languages. Coverage back to November 2004.
Source for information on U.S. and international companies and executives. Includes print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Replaces LexisNexis academic. Full-text searchable in Arabic script; in addition to major Western-language news resources, provides full-text access to news sources in Arabic, Turkish, and Hebrew.
Open Access historical newspapers and other periodicals in Middle Eastern Studies. Most titles on the list have been digitized by independent projects across the globe and may not have been fully cataloged.
Full-text news from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources at the local, regional, national, and international level. Coverage back to 1971; content is principally in English but includes some content in French, German, Italian, and Spanish as well.
This database features over a million articles from more than 270 alternative-press publications. Such titles offer different perspectives on US government, policy, and culture; report on local, national, and international issues; and cover hot-button topics like hunger, abuse, the environment, religion, and pop culture. Magazines and journals of the independent press provide in-depth coverage of a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, including ecology and the environment, labor, public policy, and more. A multi-disciplinary resource for researchers seeking an alternative to mainstream media perspectives.
The Khayrallah Center has been digitizing Arabic language newspapers (rendering print and microfilm into image and PDF files) published in the US between 1894 and 1960. At this point our collection spans 39 collections, with nearly 300,000 pages. We continue to add to our collection daily from newspapers around the world, including Arabic language newspapers from the US, Argentina and Brazil.
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
Content is predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French, spanning the time period 1877-1972. The collection comprises mostly out-of-copyright, orphaned content. CRL members and subscribing institutions also receive access to five in-copyright titles from the region: al-Jumhūrīyah (الجمهورية, Egypt), Filasṭīn (فلسطين, Israel), al-Akhbar (الاخبار, Lebanon), al-Riyadh (الرياض, Saudi Arabia), and al-Dustūr (الدستور, Jordan).
Digital versions of Iranian newspapers and periodicals capturing key historical events as they happened. Containing more than 12,000 pages, the collection is freely accessible without restriction. Interface is in English; content is in Persian but is not searchable.
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive began recording broadcasts on August 5, 1968 with the mission to create, preserve and provide access to the news broadcasts from the U.S. national television networks. The core collection of the Archive consists of regularly scheduled newscasts from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News. Special news reports are recorded in addition to these newscasts, including material from other networks. Broadcasts are recorded as they are televised. The widest access allowable is provided within copyright for scholarship and research. The database currently includes 1,120,275 records, including abstracts at the story level of regular evening newscasts and catalog records for each special news report.