Discover Advanced Search
Use Request Item to get books from other campuses
Getting Started
- Encyclopedia Judaica Standard scholarly encyclopedia for all aspects of Jewish life and culture.
- Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception Available online.
- JewishEncyclopedia.com Online text of encyclopedia published between 1901-1906.
- Jewish Virtual Library The most comprehensive online Jewish encyclopedia in the world, with more than 13,000 articles and 6,000 photographs and maps.
- Wiley Online Library-Religion & TheologySeveral handbooks with good bibliographies about many major living religions.
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window Online version of the Cambridge Companions; offers introductions to major writers, artists, topics and periods within the fields of literature, classics, philosophy, religion and culture.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window Contains all titles of the Cambridge Histories series. Topics include political, economic & regional history (ancient to modern) plus language & literature, philosophy, music, religion, science, the performing arts, etc.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window A scholar-curated library of subject bibliographies in the humanities & social sciences; each entry offers a guided tour through key literature on a topic.
- Mango Languages This link opens in a new window Online learning tool for 60+ languages; self-paced tutorials to practice reading, listening & speaking. Includes both modern languages several ancient languages (Koine & ancient Greek, Latin & Biblical Hebrew) . Also includes specialty courses (e.g. food & wine in French, Arab etiquette). Create an account with your Smith email address to track your progress.
- Rosetta Stone This link opens in a new window Online learning tool for 30 languages, from basic to advanced; self-paced tutorials for reading, writing, listening & speaking. You must first create a username/password before using Rosetta Stone.
