Research Guides: HST383: Seminar in U.S. Women's History: Domestic Worker Organizing: Articles

Article Databases

Note: ProQuest databases will not show up in a Discover Advanced search.

Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Full text for 10,000+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences from around the world.
America: History & Life with Full Text [EBSCO] 1953+ This link opens in a new window Extensive index to 1,700 journals, books, and dissertations on American and Canadian history, popular culture, anthropology, sociology, economics, education, and politics.
Black Studies Periodicals [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window Formerly called International Index to Black Periodicals. Scholarly & news articles from American, African & Caribbean publications. International and multi-disciplinary coverage of culture, history, multidisciplinary politics, religion, and social issues.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Complete full text articles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus eBooks. JSTOR’s image search (formerly Artstor) contains more than 2+ million images. It includes Smith College collections developed to meet teaching needs in the arts, humanities, and sciences, as well as images of works from the Smith College Museum.
LGBTQ+ Source [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Core journals on gay, lesbian, bisexual & transgender issues including civil liberties, culture, work, family, history, psychology, religion, sociology, etc.
Nexis Uni (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window New Lexis-Nexis interface, with a single search box, plus filters to refine searches; users are encouraged to register for an ID & password, to take advantage of personalization features. Covers a wide range of news, business, legal & reference information; includes federal & state laws & cases.
Project Muse (Current issues) This link opens in a new window Full text of 400+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Sociological Abstracts [ProQuest] 1952+ This link opens in a new window Abstracts for articles in 1,800+ journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations in the social and behavioral sciences.