Historical News
-
Illustrated London News Historical Archive [Gale] 1842-2003
This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper, presenting a vivid picture of British & world events, including news of war, disaster, ceremonies, the arts & science.
-
New York Times Historical 1851+ (lacks current 4 years) [ProQuest]
This link opens in a new window
Full text, including images, of the New York Times, excluding the most recent 4 years.
-
British Library Newspapers [Gale] 1714-1967
This link opens in a new window
Includes 48 national, regional & local newspapers, selected to best document 18th, 19th and 20th century Britain.
-
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Coverage varies by title)
This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from the Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, New York Herald Tribune, Atlanta Constitution, Jerusalem Post, New York Amsterdam News, and Times of India.
-
RetroNews 1631-1951
This link opens in a new window
Digitized articles from ~1500 French national, regional, local and colonial newspapers, covering over three centuries.
Current News
-
Access World News [NewsBank] (Coverage varies by title)
This link opens in a new window
Current and archived news content including local, state, national and international newspapers, broadcast transcripts, news wires, news blogs, video, etc.
-
New York Times, 1851+
This link opens in a new window
Full text access to current issues and a complete archive (does not include the Crossword). For full access, you must first create an account at http://accessnyt.com/. Search for and select "Smith College – Northampton, MA” You will be redirected to the NYT registration page where you can create an account with your smith.edu email address. Account will be fully active once you verify via the confirmation email. Spanish and Chinese language editions are also available.
-
Nexis Uni (Coverage varies by title)
This link opens in a new window
New Lexis-Nexis interface, with a single search box, plus filters to refine searches; users are encouraged to register for an ID & password, to take advantage of personalization features. Covers a wide range of news, business, legal & reference information; includes federal & state laws & cases.
-
Wall Street Journal
This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to current issues. This link will send you through the Smith authentication log-in, and then you'll be prompted to create your own Wall Street Journal login (which does not need to be the same as your Smith login). You will then be able to go directly to wsj.com or use the WSJ app from anywhere, on any device and gain full access with the login you've created. International editions also available. Faculty and staff need to refresh their account annually. For older issues 1984+, see Business Premium Collection [ProQuest].
