Primary Source Collections
Electronic Enlightenment This link opens in a new window
Wide-ranging collection of edited correspondence, early 17th - mid-19th century, covering Europe, the Americas & Asia.
Gerritsen Collection 1543 -1945 This link opens in a new window
An international collection of books, pamphlets and periodicals on feminism & the women's rights movement worldwide.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Full text books & journals digitized by HathiTrust partner libraries, Google, the Internet Archive, etc. Includes searchable access to over 10 million volumes total; 3 million public domain volumes are fully viewable online and allow downloading one page at a time. Complements Google Books.
Nineteenth Century British Newspapers [Gale] 1800-1913 This link opens in a new window
Includes 48 national, regional & local newspapers, selected to best document 19th century Britain.
Perdita Manuscripts, 1500-1700 [AM Digital] This link opens in a new window
Digitized manuscripts of women's writings from early modern Britain. Includes works of poetry, religious writing, autobiographical material, cookery & medical recipes, and accounts. Includes supporting contextual essays.
Women and Social Movements International [Alexander Street] 1840+ This link opens in a new window
Digital primary sources, including conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications & web pages of women's organizations, plus letters, diaries & memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-19th century.
Smith College Special Collections
Voices of Feminism Oral History Project (Special Collections)
The Voices of Feminism Oral History Project documents the persistence and diversity of organizing for women in the United States in the latter half of the 20th century. Narrators include labor, peace, and anti-racism activists; artists and writers; lesbian rights advocates; grassroots anti-violence and anti-poverty organizers; and women of color reproductive justice leaders. Interviews average 5-6 hours and cover childhood, personal life, and political work.
Smith College Finding Aids (ArchivesSpace) This link opens in a new window
Finding aids to over 1,000 Smith College archival and manuscript collections. Provides in-depth information about a collection, and a box listing of the materials.