Background/Statistics/Maps/News
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and CultureExtensive reference source includes articles on history, culture, politics, biographical information. 2008 edition.
- Latin America in Europa World PlusLong essays on the government and economy of every country in South America, Central America, and the Caribbean, with statistical tables and directory information.
- Newspapers & News [LANIC]Search over 100 regional & country-specific sources with LANIC's Latin American News Custom Search.
- Spanish Language News [LexisNexis Academic]Provides coverage of Spanish & Latin American newspapers and other news services, including the newspaper El Pais. Choose Major World Publications (Non-English), or search Sources by country - Portuguese papers are also available.
News and Articles
Use the 
buttons within the databases below to see if Smith has the article you need online or in print - or use the Journal Locator
- HAPI : Hispanic American Periodicals Index 1970+ This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles and other materials on Central & South America, Mexico, and the Caribbean.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies 1935+ This link opens in a new windowLists articles, essays and books on Latin America; alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] 1956+ This link opens in a new windowThe major database for non-US, non-Canadian history - including Latin American history.
- Black Studies Periodicals [ProQuest] This link opens in a new windowScholarly & news articles from American, African & Caribbean publications
Recommended Websites
- LANIC: Latin American Network Information CenterSearch for web resources by subject, in English, Spanish, or Portuguese.
- FLASCO [Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales]
La FLACSO es un organismo internacional de carácter autónomo y regional, creado en 1957, por iniciativa de la UNESCO y algunos gobiernos de la región. Su principal objetivo es promover las ciencias sociales en América Latina y el Cari