Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
More . . .
Use the Libraries' Research page for discipline-specific sources (anthropology, economics, etc.) or for additional reference sources (encyclopedias, language dictionaries, etc.).
For region-specific sources, see the tabs at the top of this page
Access World News [NewsBank] (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window
Current and archived news content national and international newspapers, broadcast transcripts, news wires, news blogs, video, etc.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Access the most current editions of over 4,000 newspapers & magazines from more than 100 countries in 60 languages. Viewable on PCs, smartphones & tablets.
Nexis Uni (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window
News coverage from both US and foreign news sources; also includes radio & television news transcripts and wire services.
CountryWatch 1993+ This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world including political, economic, business information, daily news, and data.
Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Long essays on the government and economy of every country, with statistical tables and directory information.
CIA World Factbook
Statistics on each country's demographics, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues, plus map.
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. [formerly, U.S. Department of State Background Notes]
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (University of Texas)
Extensive online map collection of mostly public domain maps, freely available for downloading and use.
Use the buttons within the databases
below to see if Smith has the article you need online or in print - or use the Journal Locator.
Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Large, interdisciplinary database of scholarly journals as well as news and opinion magazines.
Academic OneFile [Gale] 1980+. MLIN This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, full text articles, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, etc. Also includes New York Times full text, 1995+.
Teaching, Learning & Research Staff
Teaching, Learning & Research Librarians
, Book Studies
, Data Science & Statistics
, Inter/Extradepartmental IDP
, Kahn Institute
, Landscape Studies
, Latin American / Latina/o Studies
, Presidential Seminars
, Russian, East European and Eurasian Studies
, Statistical and Data Sciences
, Summer Programs
, Translation Studies
, World Literatures