Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Discover: Start here for books, articles & more.
- Use "Login for full access" at the top of the screen and enter your Smith login.
Discover Advanced Search includes limiting options.
Watch a video tutorial on how to do an advanced search using the Libraries' Discover search box.
Databases Listing Articles
Use the databases below to identify articles and essays on your topic.
JSTOR & Project Muse
JSTOR and Project Muse are both collections of full-text, scholarly articles. Use the search box within each for "deep" searching of the full text of articles.
Project Muse (Current issues) Full text of 400+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
JSTOR Complete full text backfiles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus 30,000 eBooks.
Get help from Esther Roth-Katz
Citation Guides & Style Manuals
Smith Libraries guide links to online versions of MLA, Chicago, and other popular manuals for writing papers and formatting footnote and bibliography citations. Includes a section on how to cite images.
MLA Format (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
Format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.