Health Reference Center [Gale] 1980+. MLINThis link opens in a new windowArticles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, and related topics.
PsycINFO [EBSCO] 1887+This link opens in a new windowWorldwide coverage of 1300+ journals, books and dissertations in the behavioral sciences, psychology, mental health, medicine, etc.
PubMed (Medline) 1950s+This link opens in a new windowLists over 14 million biomedical articles back to the 1950's. Check out the PubMed Tutorial.
Social Sciences Abstracts [EBSCO] 1983+This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and some full text of articles from 550+ sources in anthropology, political science, economics, psychology, geography, and sociology; with interviews, obituaries, and book reviews.
SPORTDiscus [EBSCO] 1800+This link opens in a new windowInternational index to journal articles, books and dissertations on sport, fitness, medicine, coaching, physical education and more.
Related Science Databases
Web of Science 1898+This link opens in a new window(Formerly Web of Knowledge) Indexes and abstracts science & technology journals (1899+), social science journals (1898+), and arts & humanities journals (1975+) published around the world; offers cited reference searching.
ScopusThis link opens in a new windowLargest abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature in all disciplines. Covers articles, books, conference proceedings & patents. Incorporates smart tools to track, analyze & visualize research.
Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO]This link opens in a new windowFull text for 10,000+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences from around the world.
BrowZineThis link opens in a new windowSearch online journals from Smith's collection and from open-access titles. Create your own bookshelf, create alerts, and sync across devices. See help for more information and download instructions for mobile version.
Education Abstracts [EBSCO] 1982+. Abstracts from 1994This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts for more than 1,000 periodicals and yearbooks, with indexing dating back to 1982 and abstracts back to 1994. Books on education, published after 1995, are also indexed.
ERIC [EBSCO] 1966+This link opens in a new windowExtensive index to nearly 1000 education journals and nearly 1000 non-journal sources including curriculum guides, books, research from school districts and non-profits, state and federal reports.
General Science Abstracts [EBSCO] 1984+This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing & abstracts of articles from almost 300 U.S. and British journals and magazines on astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and more.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowLinks to scholarly books, articles and more. Results are incomplete and vary greatly by subject. Always use the libraries' research databases for a complete search of scholarly topics.
Citing your sourcesSmith Libraries guide links to online versions of MLA, Chicago, and other popular manuals for writing papers and formatting footnote and bibliography citations. Includes a section on how to cite images.