Research Guides: EGR : Engineering: Books

Engineering E-Book Collections

IET Digital Library (Institution of Engineering and Technology) 1994-2014 This link opens in a new window
eBooks on science, engineering and technology, published by the Institution of Engineering and Technology.
Engineering Case Studies Online [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window
Growing collection of in-depth analyses of key engineering failures; includes documentaries on major failures, books, simulations, news segments, audio footage & transcripts, images, testimony from participants & witnesses, etc.
Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
DRM-free handbooks offering peer-reviewed research articles in the humanities, social sciences, education, psychology, engineering & built environment. Chapters can be browsed, searched, viewed & downloaded.

Springer E-books Search
More than 25,000 books published by Springer and its subsidiary imprints, covering every scientific discipline and some coverage of the social sciences & humanities. Includes access to Springer's Print on Demand Service
ProQuest Ebook Central
Over 100 publishers (and growing) are making their eBooks on this platform available for unlimited use, rather than being restricted to a certain number of users.
National Academies Press (National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine)
Over 5,000 books on a variety topics in science, technology, and other disciplines. Books are free to download.

Google Books This link opens in a new window
Indexes the full text of a growing number of books. For some books complete text is online; for others only a small portion. No printing or downloading.
eBook Collection [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Full text eBooks on a broad range of reference, scholarly and professional topics. Includes books formerly in netLibrary.

WorldCat (all dates) This link opens in a new window Extensive catalog (OCLC) of books, serials, media, web resources, and more worldwide.
Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Catalog This link opens in a new window Smith College is a member of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which acquires and preserves "unique and little-known documents." The collections, which number about five million items, are international in scope and made available to researchers at member institutions through interlibrary loan, electronic delivery, and on-site use at CRL in Chicago. Read more....
Books in Print 1979+ (Subscription ends 11/1/2024) This link opens in a new window Information on all books (scholarly, popular, adult, juvenile, reprint, etc.) on all subjects currently published and distributed in the U.S. With out-of-print titles from 1979 to the present.

Browse new books at Smith by using the Subject filter.