Library Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics by ISBN: 9789402411782Publication Date: 2019-07-09The second edition of this extensive work is the definitive source on issues pertaining to the full range of topics in the important area of food and agricultural ethics.
Routledge International Handbook of Food Studies by
Over the past decade there has been a remarkable flowering of interest in food and nutrition, both within the popular media and in academia. Scholars are increasingly using foodways, food systems and eating habits as a new unit of analysis within their own disciplines, and students are rushing into classes and formal degree programs focused on food. Introduced by the editor and including original articles by over thirty leading food scholars from around the world, the Routledge International Handbook of Food Studies offers students, scholars and all those interested in food-related research a one-stop, easy-to-use reference guide. Each article includes a brief history of food research within a discipline or on a particular topic, a discussion of research methodologies and ideological or theoretical positions, resources for research, including archives, grants and fellowship opportunities, as well as suggestions for further study. Each entry also explains the logistics of succeeding as a student and professional in food studies. This clear, direct Handbook will appeal to those hoping to start a career in academic food studies as well as those hoping to shift their research to a food-related project. Strongly interdisciplinary, this work will be of interest to students and scholars throughout the social sciences and humanities.
ISBN: 9780415782647Publication Date: 2012-10-15
The Oxford Companion to Food by
Twenty years in the making, the first edition of this bestselling reference work appeared in 1999 to worldwide acclaim. Combining serious and meticulously researched facts with entertaining and witty commentary, it has been deemed unique by chefs and reviewers around the globe. It contains both a comprehensive catalog of foodstuffs - crackers and cookies named for battles and divas; body parts from toe to cerebellum; breads from Asia to the Mediterranean - and a richly allusive account of the culture of food, whether expressed in literature and cook books, or as dishes special to a country or community. Retaining Alan Davidson's wisdom and wit, this new edition also covers the latest developments across the whole spectrum of this subject. Tom Jaine has taken the opportunity to update the text and alert readers to new perspectives in food studies. There is new coverage on attitudes towards food consumption, production and perception, such as food and genetics, food and sociology, and obesity. New entries include terms such as convenience foods, gastronomy, fusion food, leftovers, obesity, local food, and many more. There are also new entries on important personalities who are of special significance within the world of food, among them Clarence Birdseye, Henri Nestle, and Louis Pasteur. Now in its third edition the Companion maintains its place as the foremost food reference resource for study and home use.
ISBN: 9780199677337Publication Date: 2014-10-01
A Selection of eBooks for background, history, culture, references
The Politics of the Pantry by
"What's for dinner?" has always been a complicated question. The locavore movement has politicized food and challenged us to rethink the answer in new and radical ways. These days, questions about where our food comes from have moved beyond 100-mile-dieters into the mainstream. Celebrity chefs Jamie Oliver and Alice Waters, alternative food gurus such as Michael Pollan, and numerous other popular and academic commentators have all talked about the importance of understanding the sources and transformation of food on a human scale. In The Politics of the Pantry, Michael Mikulak interrogates these narratives - what he calls "storied food" - in food culture. As with any story, however, it is important to ask: who is telling it? Who is the audience? What assumptions are being made? Mikulak examines competing narratives of food, pleasure, sustainability, and value that have emerged from the growing sustainable food movement as well as food's past and present relationship to environmentalism in order to understand the potential and the limits of food politics. He also considers whether or not sustainable food practices can address questions about health, environmental sustainability, and local economic development, while at the same time articulating an ethical globalization. An innovative blend of academic analysis, poetic celebration, and autobiography, The Politics of the Pantry provides anyone interested in the future of food and the emergence of a green economy with a better understanding of how what we eat is transforming the world.
ISBN: 0773542760Publication Date: 2013-08-26
Curried Cultures by
Although South Asian cookery and gastronomy has transformed contemporary urban foodscape all over the world, social scientists have paid scant attention to this phenomenon. Curried Cultures-a wide-ranging collection of essays-explores the relationship between globalization and South Asia through food, covering the cuisine of the colonial period to the contemporary era, investigating its material and symbolic meanings. Curried Cultures challenges disciplinary boundaries in considering South Asian gastronomy by assuming a proximity to dishes and diets that is often missing when food is a lens to investigate other topics. The book's established scholarly contributors examine food to comment on a range of cultural activities as they argue that the practice of cooking and eating matter as an important way of knowing the world and acting on it.
ISBN: 0520270126Publication Date: 2012-05-01
A Land Not Forgotten by
Food insecurity takes a disproportionate toll on the health of Canada's Indigenous people. "A Land Not Forgotten" examines the disruptions in local food practices as a result of colonization and the cultural, educational, and health consequences of those disruptions. This multidisciplinary work demonstrates how some Indigenous communities in northern Ontario areaddressing challenges to food security through the restoration of land-based cultural practices.Improving Indigenous health, food security, and sovereignty means reinforcing practices that build resiliency in ecosystems and communities. As this book contends, this includes facilitating productive collaborations and establishing networks of Indigenous communities and allies to work together in promotion and protection of Indigenous food systems. This willinfluence diverse groups and encourage them to recognize the complexity of colonial histories and the destructive health impacts in Indigenous communities.In addition to its multidisciplinary lens, the authors employ a community based participatory approach that privileges Indigenous interests and perspectives. "A Land Not Forgotten" provides a comprehensive picture of the food security and health issues Indigenous peoples are encountering in Canada's rural north.
ISBN: 9780887557576Publication Date: 2017-04-12The Life of Cheese: Crafting Food and Value in America by
Publication Date: 2013Chocolate in Mesoamerica: A Cultural History of Cacao by
Call Number: FC E-Resource & Print: SC Neilson Stacks / F 1435.3.F7 C46 2006Publication Date: 2009Onions and Other Vegetable Alliums by
Call Number: FC E-ResourcePublication Date: 2008features history, horticulture, economic importancePasta: The Story of a Universal Food by
Call Number: FC E-Resource and SC Science Reference / TX 809 .M17 S4713 2002Publication Date: 2002Pepper Trail: History & Recipes from Around the World by
Call Number: FC E-ResourcePublication Date: 1999Pomodoro! A History of the Tomato in Italy by
Call Number: FC E-Resource and SC Science / TX 803.T6 G46 2010Publication Date: 2010
