Librarian
Feedback Form
Information about Educational Systems from NGOs
- OECD Educational Systems Information Educational reports and statistics for the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's 34 member-countries.
- PISA - Programme for International Student Assessment The Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA) is a triennial international survey which aims to evaluate education systems worldwide by testing the skills and knowledge of 15-year-old students.
- UNESCO World Data on Education (2011) Detailed profiles on the education systems of many countries, created by the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization and the International Bureau of Education.
Country Information
- CIA World Factbook Background information on 233 countries, maintained by the CIA.
- CountryWatch 1993+ This link opens in a new window A good starting point for finding general information on your country. Current information and news on the countries of the world including political, economical, and business information.
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window A good starting point for finding general information on your country. Online version of Europe World Yearbook and Europa Regional Surveys.
Books @ Smith
Annual Review of Comparative and International Education 2014Publication Date: 2014-08-18
Assessing Contexts of Learning
This volume brings together educational effectiveness research and international large-scale assessments, demonstrating how the two fields can be applied to inspire and improve each other, and providing readers direct links to instruments that cover a broad range of topics and have been shown to work in more than 70 countries.
Publication Date: 2016-12-15
Education Policy
`Education policy is now a global matter and all the more complex for that. Mark Olssen, John Codd and Ann-Marie O'Neill do us an invaluable service in producing a carefully theorised guide to current issues and key concerns - this is an important, erudite and very practical book' - Stephen J Ball, Education Policy Research Unit, University of London `Given the global reach of neoliberal policies, we need cogent books that enable us to better understand the major effects such tendencies have. Education Policy is such a book. It is insightful and well written--and should be read by all of us who care deeply about what is happening in education in international contexts' - Michael W Apple, Author of 'Educating the "Right" Way and John Bascom Professor of Education University of Wisconsin, Madison `I really am taken with the book, the range and depth of analysis are truly impressive. This book is a magnum opus and everyone in the area should read it'- Hugh Lauder, University of Bath `In their insightful and comprehensive book on education policy Mark Olssen, John Codd and Anne-Marie O'Neill wrestle with the big questions of citizenship and democracy in an age of globalization. They argue that ducation policy in the 21st century is the key to security, sustainability and survival. The book, anchored in the poststructuralist perspective of Michel Foucault, traverses the whole territory of education policy not only methods and approaches of policy analysis and the dominant political perspectives that influence policy-classical liberalism, social democracy and neo-liberalism--but also those policy areas that require the closest scrutiny: markets, trust, professionalism, choice, diversity, and finally, community, citizenship and democracy. This is the new policy bible for educationalists - it is at once systematic, provocative and instructive' - Mi
Publication Date: 2004-06-30
Handbook of Global Education Policy by
This innovative new handbook offers a comprehensive overview of the ways in which domestic education policy is framed and influenced by global institutions and actors. Surveys current debates about the role of education in a global polity, highlights key transnational policy actors, accessibly introduces research methodologies, and outlines global agendas for education reform Includes contributions from an international cast of established and emerging scholars at the forefront of the field thoughtfully edited and organized by a team of world-renowned global education policy experts Each section features a thorough introduction designed to facilitate readers' understanding of the subsequent material and highlight links to interdisciplinary global policy scholarship Written in an accessible and engaging style that will appeal to domestic and international policy practitioners, social scientists, and education scholars alike
ISBN: 9781118468043Publication Date: 2016-02-24
International Education
This encyclopedia is the most current and exhaustive reference available on international education. It provides thorough, up-to-date coverage of key topics, concepts, and issues, as well as in-depth studies of approximately 180 national educational systems throughout the world. Articles examine education broadly and at all levels--from primary grades through higher education, formal to informal education, country studies to global organizations.
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
The Multimedia Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World
"Focuses on women's status starting approximately in the year 2000 and looks forward. From A-to-Z, this work covers the spectrum of defining women in the contemporary world."
Publication Date: 2013- Routledge Handbook of International Education and Development by
This timely Handbook takes stock of the range of debates that characterise the field of international education and development, and suggests key aspects of a research agenda for the next period. It is deliberately divergent in its approach, recognising the major ideological and epistemological divides that characterise a field that draws on many traditions. Leading and emergent voices from different paradigms and contexts are afforded a space to be heard and each section puts current debates in larger historical contexts. The Handbook is divided in four parts and book-ended by an introduction and a conclusion, the latter oriented towards the implications that the volume has for future research agendas. The first part explores major strands of debates about education's place in development theory. The second acknowledges the disciplining of the field by the education for all movement and examines the place that learning and teaching, and schools play in development. Part three looks beyond schools to consider early years, adult and vocational education but focuses particularly on the return to thinking about higher education's role in development. The final part considers the changing, but still important, role that international cooperation plays in shaping education in developing countries. Featuring over thirty chapters written by leading international and interdisciplinary scholars, the Routledge Handbook of International Education and Development offers the first comprehensive and forward-looking resource for students and scholars.
ISBN: 9781315797007Publication Date: 2015-07-24
The SAGE Handbook of Comparative Studies in Education by
Educational practices have rapidly changed in the last few decades, especially in how exchanges of information and learning are delivered and processed. Yet, while the field of international comparative studies has grown, there has not been an extensive study on the relationship between educational practices, students, and how practitioners are prepared and trained. This handbook explores international educational practices and behaviours through new research and a review of existing research, with chapters spread across six parts: Part I: Introduction to Research Practices in Comparative Studies of Education Part II: Research Methods Part III: Policy Transfer Research through International Comparisons Part IV: Use of Student time in Formal and Informal Settings Part V: School Practices from Early Childhood through Secondary School Part VI: Conclusion - Lessons from Large Scale Studies
ISBN: 9781526419460Publication Date: 2019-07-22
