Research Guides: CLS : Classical Languages and Literatures: Background Information

Getting Started

Blackwell Reference Online This link opens in a new window 350+ titles in the humanities and social sciences, including the Blackwell companions and handbooks. Strengths are psychology, sociology, history, literature, philosophy, and religion.
Brill's Companions in Classical Studies Online I This link opens in a new window Full text companions on a variety of classical authors, historical figures, genres and places.
Brill's Companions in Classical Studies Online II This link opens in a new window Full text companions to classical authors and genres.
Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window Online version of the Cambridge Companions; offers introductions to major writers, artists, topics and periods within the fields of literature, classics, philosophy, religion and culture.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window Contains all titles of the Cambridge Histories series. Topics include political, economic & regional history (ancient to modern) plus language & literature, philosophy, music, religion, science, the performing arts, etc.
Mango Languages This link opens in a new window Online learning tool for 60+ languages; self-paced tutorials to practice reading, listening & speaking. Includes both modern languages several ancient languages (Koine & ancient Greek, Latin & Biblical Hebrew) . Also includes specialty courses (e.g. food & wine in French, Arab etiquette). Create an account with your Smith email address to track your progress.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window A scholar-curated library of subject bibliographies in the humanities & social sciences; each entry offers a guided tour through key literature on a topic.

Classical Resources for Research and Reference Compiled by J. Porter (UC Irvine).
Electronic Resources for Classicists Compiled by M. Pantelia (UC Irvine).
Perseus Digital Library Includes full texts of classical sources in Greek, Latin, and English translation. Also contains images, atlases, dictionaries, and grammars.

Brill's New Pauly Online This link opens in a new window

TLG - Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window Contains virtually all ancient Greek texts from the period between Homer (800 B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453. Personal login required to access free content.