Chemistry Databases
- American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications This link opens in a new window Indexes all ACS journals, with links to full text for most.
- Current Chemical Reactions [Web of Science] (Current coverage) This link opens in a new window The latest synthetic methods reported in over 100 of the world's leading organic chemistry journals. Each reaction provides complete reaction diagrams, critical conditions, bibliographic data, and author abstracts.
- Engineering Village 1884+ This link opens in a new window Smith’s access to the Engineering Village platform includes Ei Compendex (1884-present), which is the broadest and most complete engineering literature database available. It also includes GEOBASE, which covers international geoscience literature (1973-present).
- General Science Abstracts [EBSCO] 1984+ (subscription ends 1/1/25) This link opens in a new window Provides indexing & abstracts of articles from almost 300 U.S. and British journals and magazines on astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and more.
- Geobase 1973+ This link opens in a new window Lists research literature on earth sciences: geology, geography, environmental science, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy, pollution, waste management & conservation. Covers journals, trade publications, book & conference proceedings.
- Index Chemicus [Web of Science] This link opens in a new window Structures and critical supporting data for novel organic compounds.
- PubMed (Medline) 1950s+ This link opens in a new window Lists over 14 million biomedical articles back to the 1950's. Check out the PubMed Tutorial.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new window Indexes 2500 journals and 6000 books in science, technology and the social sciences from Elsevier Science.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new window Comprehensive chemical literature database. Requires registration here [use @smith.edu]. See SciFinder Support & Training for more info.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Largest abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature in all disciplines. Covers articles, books, conference proceedings & patents. Incorporates smart tools to track, analyze & visualize research.
- Web of Science 1898+ This link opens in a new window (Formerly Web of Knowledge) Indexes and abstracts science & technology journals (1899+), social science journals (1898+), and arts & humanities journals (1975+) published around the world; offers cited reference searching.
Related Science Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Full text for 10,000+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences from around the world.
- Annual Reviews Full text from vol.1 to present.
- CAS Source Index (CASSI) Provides information about journals. Search by title, abbreviation, CODEN, ISBN, or ISSN.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Links to scholarly books, articles and more. Results are incomplete and vary greatly by subject. Always use the libraries' research databases for a complete search of scholarly topics.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library 1872+ This link opens in a new window Full text journals across the fields of electrical and biomedical engineering, communications, computer science, aerospace, energy, robotics, etc.. Also contains IEEE conference proceedings, standards and added content from IET, VDE & Bell Lab.
- Ingenta 1997 to date This link opens in a new window Free searching and browsing of over 25 million articles, chapters, reports, etc. publications in all fields.
- Institute of Physics (IOP) Online Journals Contains the full-text of most IOP journals.
- JoVE: Science Education Database This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed scientific video journal; publishes scientific research in a visual format, facilitating reproducibility & learning new experimental techniques.
- SciTech Connect This link opens in a new window Science, technology, and engineering research information (articles, datasets) from the U.S. Department of Energy.
Biochemistry and Biology Databases
- Biological Abstracts [Web of Science] 1926+ This link opens in a new window Indexes articles in the life sciences and biomedical fields: biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, zoology, agriculture, etc.
- Gale OneFile Health & Medicine (formerly Health Reference Center) This link opens in a new window Articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, and related topics.
Science Librarian
Get Citation Help
Get help with articles
- Citing your sources Smith Libraries guide links to online versions of MLA, Chicago, and other popular manuals for writing papers and formatting footnote and bibliography citations. Includes a section on how to cite images.