Climate in Arts and History: Promoting Climate Literacy Across Disciplines: This resource aims to promote climate literacy across disciplines by exploring and documenting the many ways in which climate has impacted, and continues to influence life on Earth.
Malthi in Media: Peopling an Ancient Village in Virtual Space from the Classical Languages and Literatures department: Digital applications have increased the possibilities for the visualization of archaeological material. Here are presented two reconstructions of the Bronze Age settlement Malthi, created using Minecraft and Twine, both readily accessible programs.
Activist Memoirs Database from the Community Engagement and social Change Concentration: The activist memoirs database serves as a growing collection of stories describing the incredible lives of activists. It serves as a resource for researchers, students, and anyone else interested in learning about the various ways activist leaders have manifested change.
Resilient Community Acts: Testimonial Video
Tadoku Tree House Smith College students enrolled in all levels of Japanese have used the grammar and vocabulary they have encountered in class to create their own original books for a broader Tadoku practitioner like you. The Smith College Japanese program’s collection of “books by learners”, is entirely composed of their work.
Open pedagogy is the practice of engaging with students as creators of information rather than simply consumers of information. It's a form of experiential, active, and innovative learning in which students demonstrate understanding through the act of creation. Students are active rather than passive participants in the creation of public knowledge and scholarship.
Open projects frequently result in the creation of OER. Like all OER which adhere to the 5 r's, they are openly licensed and can come in many forms and formats: fully self-contained textbooks, videos, quizzes, learning modules, databases and more.
Free + Freedom: The Role of Open Pedagogy in the Open Education Movement, by Rajiv Jhangiani, licensed CC BY
Open Pedagogy Portal from the Open Education Network (OEN)
Renewable assignments from Designing with OER (DOER) Fellows through the Open Education Group
Open Pedagogy Notebook: "We might think about Open Pedagogy as an access-oriented commitment to learner-driven education AND as a process of designing architectures and using tools for learning that enable students to shape the public knowledge commons of which they are a part."
WikiEducation Foundation: Wiki Education envisions a world in which students, scholars, scientists, archivists, librarians, and other members of academic and cultural institutions are actively engaged in sharing their knowledge with the general public through Wikipedia, Wikidata, and other open collaboration projects on the web.
Public Knowledge Project: Open Course Journals
Smith College ScholarWorks Open Pedagogy: Selected Works See our growing collection of Smith-created open pedagogy.
A Guide to Making Textbooks with Students: A handbook for faculty interested in practicing open pedagogy by involving students in the making of open textbooks, ancillary materials, or other Open Educational Resources. Compiled by Rebus Community.
Changing our (Dis)Course: A Distinctive Social Justice Aligned Definition of Open Education: Sarah Lambert's 2018 paper points to the ways in which open education that includes open pedagogy works to address the principles of social justice:
Redistributive Justice. Free educational resources, textbooks or courses to learners who by circumstance of socio-cultural position cannot afford them, particularly learners who could be excluded from education or be more likely to fail due to lack of access to learning materials.
Recognitive Justice. Socio-cultural diversity in the open curriculum. Inclusion of images, case studies, and knowledges of women, First Nations people and whomever is marginalised in any particular national, regional or learning context. Recognition of diverse views and experiences as legitimate within open assignments and feedback.
