Library Catalogs and Book Resources
- Center for Research Libraries A collection of over 5 million "unique and little-known documents." Materials are available to the Smith community by inter-library loan or by on-demand digitization.
- Finding booksSmith College Guide to finding books
- National Library of Medicine Locator Plus Catalog of books and other materials.
- WorldCat Use WorldCat to expand your search for books, theses, etc. beyond the Five College area. Watch for items that are owned by only one library; such unique material is often not obtainable via interlibrary loan.
E-Books Full-text:
(Please note that the individual records for many of the e-books in the databases below are in the 5-College Catalog. However, these collections provide the capability of searching the full-text of each book, whereas the 5-College Catalog does not.)
- Ebook Central [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window A very large collection of eBooks, mostly scholarly, spanning the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. If you’re using your own laptop or desktop, install Adobe Digital Editions; for offline reading, go to the App Store or Google Play to download the Bluefire app for iOS and Android devices. Help.
- eBook Collection [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Full text eBooks on a broad range of reference, scholarly and professional topics. Includes books formerly in netLibrary.
- Google Books This link opens in a new window Indexes the full text of a growing number of books. For some books complete text is online; for others only a small portion. No printing or downloading.
- Springer E-books 1815+ This link opens in a new window 250,000 eBooks published by Springer and its subsidiary imprints, covering every scientific discipline, with some coverage of the social sciences & humanities. Includes access to Springer's Print on Demand Service (MyCopy).