Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Planned Parenthood Special Collections Resources: Digital Resources

Guide to resources related to Planned Parenthood in Smith College Special Collections

Finding digitized content online

Select material is available online through the finding aids (collection guides) for each collection. To search a specific collection, use the navigation bar to the right of the page (or at the bottom, depending on your screen size). To see previously digitized material, search "digital_object" in the search bar at the top of the navigation bar on the main page of the individual collection.

You can also browse Compass, a digital collections repository shared by Smith, Mount Holyoke, and Hampshire colleges. The same materials you can find in the finding aids are hosted on this website, plus additional materials from other institutions.

Digitization Requests

For instructions on making digitization requests, please visit our Rights & Reproductions page

The Margaret Sanger Papers Project

The Margaret Sanger Papers Project

The Margaret Sanger Papers Project is a historical editing project initially sponsored by the Department of History and then by the Division of Libraries at New York University. The Project was formed by Dr. Esther Katz in 1985 to locate, arrange, edit, research, and publish the papers of the noted birth control pioneer.

The Margaret Sanger Papers Project has published a two-series microfilm edition, the Margaret Sanger Papers Microfilm, Smith College Collections and the Collected Documents Series. Work on the Smith College Collections entailed the rearrangement and organization of over 50,000 Sanger documents in the Margaret Sanger collection and seventeen other collections at the Sophia Smith Collection and Smith College Archives. Work on the Collected Documents Series included a ten-year international search of over 1,500 archives and private collections, photocopying material and organizing over 9,000 documents for publication. Both series have been published with a printed reel guide that includes an item-level index by University Publications of America, now a division of Proquest. On online edition of the Project's microfilm is available through Proquest's History Vault

The Project has completed a four-volume book edition of Sanger's Papers, published by the University of Illinois Press. The volumes are subtitled The Woman Rebel, 1900-1928Birth Control Comes of Age, 1928-1939The Politics of Parenthood, 1939-1966, and 'Round the World for Birth Control,' 1920-1959, have been published.

The Project also published an electronic edition of a small sample of documents related to Sanger's The Woman Rebel.

 

Margaret Sanger Papers Project records

SSC-MS-00776
The Margaret Sanger Papers Project (MSPP) is a historical editing project sponsored by the Division of Libraries at New York University. The Project was formed by Dr. Esther Katz in 1985 to locate, arrange, edit, research, and publish the papers of the noted birth control pioneer. The collection contains biographical files, subject files, chronology and newspaper clippings, correspondence, a few primary sources (pamphlets, brochures, and publications), computer files, and an FBI file on Margaret Sanger.