Smith College Special Collections is a unit within Smith College Libraries. As a special collections library, it is home to materials outside the general library collection, including rare books, archives (historic records), manuscripts, maps, oral history interviews, and audiovisual material. These materials do not circulate outside of the library and are used onsite in the Reading Room. The Reading Room is open to all researchers working on a variety of projects including fiction books, art pieces, documentaries, family history, podcasts, academic publications, and coursework. 

For more information about Smith College Special Collections, please visit our website.

Visit

All materials that are available for research can be viewed in the reading room. For more information, please read our Visit Special Collections.

To learn how to access the collection, please visit the Search Special Collections page.

The records of the Planned Parenthood Federation of America are divided into three sections, PPFA I, PPFA II, and PPFA III. They are found in the  the Sophia Smith Collection of Women’s History, a part of Smith College Special Collections. Smith College Special Collections comprises the Mortimer Rare Book Collection, the Smith College Archives and the Sophia Smith Collection of Women’s History.

Read the “Scope and Contents” and the "Biographical/Historical" notes in the finding aids for more information on each individual collection.
 

Publications

• Planned parenthood news. [No.1 (fall 1952)-no. 54 (May 1968); v. 1, no. 1 (March 1969)- v. 1, no. 2 (May 1969).]
• Margaret Hays Baum, an oral history: conversations with Dorothy Wardell, January to April 1982, on the 50th anniversary of Planned Parenthood of Rochester & Monroe County, Inc.
• Advances in Planned Parenthood, 1967-1981