Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Poisoned City by When the people of Flint, Michigan, turned on their faucets in April 2014, the water pouring out was poisoned with lead and other toxins. Through a series of disastrous decisions, the state government had switched the city's water supply to a source that corroded Flint's aging lead pipes. Complaints about the foul-smelling water were dismissed: the residents of Flint, mostly poor and African American, were not seen as credible, even in matters of their own lives. It took eighteen months of activism by city residents and a band of dogged outsiders to force the state to admit that the water was poisonous. By that time, twelve people had died and Flint's children had suffered irreparable harm. The long battle for accountability and a humane response to this man-made disaster has only just begun. In the first full account of this American tragedy, Anna Clark's The Poisoned City recounts the gripping story of Flint's poisoned water through the people who caused it, suffered from it, and exposed it. It is a chronicle of one town, but could also be about any American city, all made precarious by the neglect of infrastructure and the erosion of democratic decision making. Places like Flint are set up to fail--and for the people who live and work in them, the consequences can be fatal.
Call Number: Request from UMASS or Mt. Holyoke
Publication Date: 2018-07-10
The Great Lead Water Pipe Disaster by The history of a long-running environmental catastrophe chronicles the harmful effects of lead pipes and their continued use despite evidence that they pose a significant health risk. In The Great Lead Water Pipe Disaster, Werner Troesken looks at a long-running environmental and public health catastrophe: 150 years of lead pipes in local water systems and the associated sickness, premature death, political inaction, and social denial. The harmful effects of lead water pipes became apparent almost as soon as cities the world over began to install them. Doctors and scientists noted cases of acute illness and death attributable to lead in public water beginning in the middle of the nineteenth century, and an editorial in the New York Herald called for the city to study the matter after a bizarre illness made headlines in 1868. But officials took no action for many years. New York City, for example, did not take any steps to reduce lead levels in water until 1992, long after the most serious damage had been done. By then, in any case, much of the old lead pipe had been replaced with safer materials. Troesken examines the health effects of lead exposure, analyzing cases from New York City, Boston, and Glasgow and many smaller towns in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and England. He draws on period accounts, government reports, court decisions, and economic and demographic analysis to document the widespread nature of the problem, the recognized health effects--particularly for pregnant women and young children--and official intransigence. He presents an accessible overview of the old and new science of lead exposure--explaining, for example, why areas with soft water suffered more harmful effects than areas with hard water. And he gives us compelling and vivid accounts of the people and politics involved. The effects of lead in water continue to be felt; many older houses still have lead service pipes. The Great Lead Water Pipe Disaster is essential reading for understanding this past and ongoing public health problem.
Drinking Water by This book takes a broad and eclectic view of the water that all humanity depends upon, probing its role in human life and in the history of our planet, as well as surveying the latest scientific understanding of purification techniques and standards for the protection of water quality. The volume opens with a chapter on the role of drinking water in human life, which discusses the planet's water resources, the quality of drinking water, water and health, the advent of water quality standards, "Green" chemistry and more. The chapter concludes by discussing the relationship of the biosphere and human civilization. Chapter Two explores the unique properties of water, the role of water in the scenario of development on Earth. Also covered is the current understanding of the importance of the isotopic composition of water, in particular the ratio of protium to deuterium, which is fundamental to life. The third chapter is devoted to Water Clusters, examining the structure, properties and formation of clusters. Also covered here is theoretical research on the interaction of water clusters with ozone, the impact of temperature on water clusters and more. Chapter Four is devoted to drinking water and factors affecting its quality. Discussion includes ecological and hygienic classification of centralized drinking water supply sources, water quality requirements, and problems and potentialities of drinking water preparation. The author introduces a new concept for supplying the population with high-quality drinking water. The fifth chapter examines the peculiarities and problems of water decontamination, with sections on chlorination, ozonation, the bactericidal effects of ultrasound and ultraviolet rays and more. Chapter Six offers a thorough exploration of the theory, means and methods of bio testing as an evaluation method for the quality of drinking water. The final chapter discusses new state standards for drinking water, as well as requirements and methods of quality control. The concluding selection relates the urgent need to measure, evaluate and protect the quality of drinking water and describes a new state standard of drinking water quality.
Publication Date: 2014-07-08
Library Catalogs and Book Resources
Flickr: http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4035/4263328317_329e667327_m.jpg By Horia Varlan
Five College Library Catalog
Search for books, media, and more at all Five Colleges, or limit your Search to Smith only.
Five College Library Catalog / Advanced Search
Use Advanced Search to limit to by format, such as E-Books, E-Video, or E-Audio.
Use WorldCat to expand your search for books, theses, etc. beyond the Five College area. Watch for items that are owned by only one library; such unique material is often not obtainable via interlibrary loan.
E-Books Full text
(Please note that the individual records for many of the e-books in the databases below are in the Five College Catalog. However, these collections provide the capability of searching the full-text of each book, whereas the Five College Catalog does not.)
Springer E-books 1815+ This link opens in a new window
250,000 eBooks published by Springer and its subsidiary imprints, covering every scientific discipline, with some coverage of the social sciences & humanities. Includes access to Springer's Print on Demand Service (MyCopy).
Ebook Central [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
A very large collection of eBooks, mostly scholarly, spanning the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. If you’re using your own laptop or desktop, install Adobe Digital Editions
; for offline reading, go to the App Store or Google Play to download the Bluefire app for iOS and Android devices. Help.
eBook Collection [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Full text eBooks on a broad range of reference, scholarly and professional topics. Includes books formerly in netLibrary.
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Indexes the full text of a growing number of books. For some books complete text is online; for others only a small portion. No printing or downloading.
Use Interlibrary Loan to request books not owned in the Five Colleges. Please allow a week or 2 for delivery.