Research Guides: ARC : Archaeology: Background Information

Getting Started

Encyclopedias
Bibliographies

Neilson Oversize CC70 .E54 2008
Encyclopedia of Archaeology, edited by Deborah M. Pearsall. San Diego, Calif.: Elsevier/Academic Press, 2008.

Art Reference CC100 .M87 2007
Murray, Tim. Milestones in Archaeology: A Chronological Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2007.

Art Reference CC100 .E54 2001
Encyclopedia of Archaeology. History and Discoveries, edited by Tim Murray. 3 vols.
Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2001.

Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
DRM-free handbooks offering peer-reviewed research articles in the humanities, social sciences, education, psychology, engineering & built environment. Chapters can be browsed, searched, viewed & downloaded.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Review essays evaluating the current thinking on a field or topic. Articles review the key issues, reveal original arguments and concepts, and set the agenda for new research.

About.com for Archaeology
Great bibliographies!
Archaeology Resources

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
A scholar-curated library of subject bibliographies in the humanities & social sciences; each entry offers a guided tour through key literature on a topic.

General Surveys & Handbooks

Field Archaeology from Around the World: Ideas and Approaches
E-book edition (Carver et al., 2014)
Archaeology: A Beginner’s’ Guide
E-book edition of Flatman, 2015
Encyclopedia of Global Archaeology
E-book edition of Smith, 2014.
Archaeology in America: An Encyclopedia
Art Reference E159.5 .A68 2009
Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology
E-book edition of Barker, 1999.

Reference Universe

Search for encyclopedias & more

Keywords:

Enter your search terms:

Search tips: try simple words/phrases (e.g. Gournia, domestication of animals)

Reference Universe indexes thousands of print and online reference titles, with links to Smith College Libraries holdings. It's an "academic" alternative to Wikipedia.