Disclaimer
We have attempted to bring together quality, relevant resources for the anti-racism issues in this guide, but are not immune from the limits and hidden biases of our own identities, privileges, and perspectives. We welcome and greatly appreciate any feedback and suggestions for the guide. Please contact us if you notice any dead links.
Ask Us for Help
Background Resources
About
This guide is intended to provide resources about anti-racism available to the Smith College community and is presented as a starting point for identifying local resources. This guide is by no means an exhaustive list of anti-racism initiatives or resources, and will be continuously updated and added to. On this page, you will find a variety of racially and ethnically diverse resources from the library's collection.
Books
Above are books chosen by the subject librarians here at SCL, to represent diverse perspectives in their respective disciplines. Browse books available at Smith through Visual Browse.
Library Databases
Below you will find a variety of databases in the library collection that represent racially and ethnically diverse voices and experiences.
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window Full text articles from The Christian Recorder, The Colored American/Weekly Advocate, Frederick Douglass Paper, Freedom's Journal, The National Era, The North Star, Provincial Freeman, and Douglass Monthly.
- Asian American Drama [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window 252 plays, with biographical, production, and theatrical information, from the late 19th century to present.
- Black Studies Periodicals [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window Formerly called International Index to Black Periodicals. Scholarly & news articles from American, African & Caribbean publications. International and multi-disciplinary coverage of culture, history, multidisciplinary politics, religion, and social issues.
- Ethnic NewsWatch [ProQuest] 1960+ This link opens in a new window Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- HAPI : Hispanic American Periodicals Index 1970+ This link opens in a new window Citations to articles and other materials from 400+ journals, on Central & South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, U.S.-Mexico border & U.S. Hispanics.
- Independent Voices: A Collection of an Alternative Press This link opens in a new window Alternative press newspapers, magazines & journals from the latter half of the 20th century, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries.
- Tribal Treaties Database This link opens in a new window This database includes agreements between tribal nations and the United States (1778-1886) published in the 1904 work “Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties” (Volume II), compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler. As you view the treaties in this database, editorial margin notes are included. Links to Kappler’s original text and digitized treaties held at the National Archives can also be found throughout the site. Finally, a recently updated, comprehensive index complements this work.
Special Collections
Below you will find a few collections from Special Collection at Smith College Libraries that center diverse voices.