It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
An independent archive housed on the campus of Tulane University. "The holdings include the papers of artists, educators, authors, business leaders, clergy, lawyers, factory workers, farmers and musicians." Focused on race relations, civil rights, and the African Diaspora in the US.
"The Archives Research Center’s collections primarily document the African American experience through civil rights, race relations, education, literature, visual and performing arts, religion, politics, and social work."
The John Hope Franklin Research Center "collects, preserves and promotes the use of published and unpublished primary sources for the exploration, understanding and advancement of scholarship of the history and culture of Africa and people of the African Diaspora in the Americas."
One of the largest collections of women's history, featuring notable African American women such as June Jordan, Pauli Murray, Florynce Kennedy, Ana Livia Cordero, and the Black Women's Oral History Project.
The Schomburg Center is considered one of the most significant collections of African diaspora history, holding more than 10 million items. Features "unique, and primary materials that document the history and culture of people of African descent throughout the world, with a concentration on the Americas and the Caribbean."
"The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office." Led by Librarian Carla Hayden, the LOC seeks to make American cultural heritage more accessible through digitization.
"New York Public Library's digital collections provide access to over 800,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, fashion plates, printed ephemera, and more."
Full text books & journals digitized by HathiTrust partner libraries, Google, the Internet Archive, etc. Includes searchable access to over 10 million volumes total; 3 million public domain volumes are fully viewable online and allow downloading one page at a time. Complements Google Books.
Downloadable public domain photographs, as well as documents, orders, and speeches of the US Marine Corps. Documents United States military intervention in Haiti, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Mexico, and the Virgin Islands.
Full text articles from The Christian Recorder, The Colored American/Weekly Advocate, Frederick Douglass Paper, Freedom's Journal, The National Era, The North Star, Provincial Freeman, and Douglass Monthly.
Materials from (or related to) the migration by sea of Cubans, Dominicans, and Haitians, including the refugee camp for Cuban and Haitian rafters that existed in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, largely dating from 1991-1996. Includes newspapers in Spanish and Haitian Kreyol, as well as photographs of rafters and rescuers, and camp residents from the US Coast Guard archives.
Digital primary source collections on a wide variety of topics, countries, and time periods, from women's history and feminism, to civil rights, foreign policy, missionary societies, the Federal Writers' Project, etc.
Full text articles from the Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, New York Herald Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Constitution, Jerusalem Post, New York Amsterdam News, and Times of India.