Research Guides: SPP : Spanish & Portuguese: Articles/Databases

Core Databases

This section includes some Best Bets, or databases that have been deemed most relevant for initial or beginning research on Spanish & Portuguese.

Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Full text for 10,000+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences from around the world.
Handbook of Latin American Studies 1935+ This link opens in a new window A bibliography on Latin America edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
HAPI : Hispanic American Periodicals Index 1970+ This link opens in a new window Citations to articles and other materials from 400+ journals, on Central & South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, U.S.-Mexico border & U.S. Hispanics.
MLA International Bibliography [EBSCO] 1919+ This link opens in a new window Extensive index to literature, language, linguistics and folklore in journal articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and more. From the Modern Language Association of America.

Additional Databases

Here you will find additional databases that are relevant to the study of Spanish & Portuguese.

America: History & Life with Full Text [EBSCO] 1953+ This link opens in a new window Extensive index to 1,700 journals, books, and dissertations on American and Canadian history, popular culture, anthropology, sociology, economics, education, and politics.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index [Web of Science] 1975+ This link opens in a new window Bibliographic and citation information for journal articles from over 1,700 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text [EBSCO] (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window Covers film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews and more.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] 1956+ This link opens in a new window Covers history after 1450, excluding U.S. and Canada; lists articles, books, book reviews, collections, and dissertations.
Humanities Abstracts [EBSCO] 1984+ This link opens in a new window Abstracts of articles, book reviews, interviews, obituaries, fiction, drama, poetry, and reviews of plays, television, and radio from 465+ sources.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective [EBSCO] 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window Indexes 1,200 scholarly journals and specialized magazines in the social sciences and humanities; with citations to book reviews.
Humanities International Index [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Citations and abstracts for articles, essays, and original works (poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations) from books and journals.
Social Sciences Citation Index [Web of Science] 1898+ This link opens in a new window Bibliographic and citation from 3,000 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines.

Notable Journals

Bulletin of Hispanic Studies Publishes work devoted to the languages, literatures, and civilizations of Spain, Portugal, and Latin America.
Chasqui Chasqui is the only academic journal devoted exclusively to Latin American literature and culture in the sense of bringing together research on the Spanish-speaking republics, Brazil, and the Indigenous Peoples of the continent.
Hispania Devoted to the teaching of Spanish and Portuguese, Hispania is published by the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese.
Luso-Brazlian Review Luso-Brazilian Review publishes interdisciplinary scholarship on Portuguese, Brazilian, and Lusophone African cultures, with special emphasis on scholarly works in literature, history, and the social sciences.
Revista de Estudios Hispánicos The Revista de Estudios Hispánicos an internationally recognized, peer-reviewed journal that publishes original manuscripts in all areas of Hispanic literatures, cultures, and film, including essays on theoretical and interdisciplinary topics.