News Images: Current & HistoricalPictures in Print SourcesSmith College Libraries Special Collections
Reproductions in Print Sources
Smith College Libraries Need Help? Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Home Smith College Libraries Research page Smith College Library Services Smith College Libraries General Information Smith College Libraries & Collections Smith College Libraries
Admin Sign In 

Find Images  Tags: images pictures illustrations reproductions  

Picture Research Sources & Strategies
Last update: Oct 06, 2009 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/findimages  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  
 

About this Guide

This guide is intended to help researchers find and use images online, in print publications, and in Smith's unique special collections. It covers tools to find images such as indexes, catalogs, and Internet search engines, and provides extensive listings of image sources. These sources include historical and contemporary news media, editorial and advertising illustration, works of art, archival documents, and many other visual materials.

 

 
 

What's in this Guide

People, Places, Things & Events

  • Digital Images
    Photo agencies and other commercial sources, public collections
  • News & Historical Photos
    News photo and footage databases, full-text historical newspapers and periodicals, Smith's archival collections
  • Pictures in Print Sources
    Pictures in books and magazines, illustration indexes, important illustrated periodicals in the libraries' collections
  • Smith College Special Collections
    Digital and print materials in the College Archives, Sophia Smith Collection, and Mortimer Rare Book Room

Works of Art

  • Digital Images
    Image databases, images in national and other digital research libraries, online museum catalogs, general and specialized digital collections
  • Reproductions in Print Sources
    Art images in books and periodicals, indexes to reproductions of works of art, Smith's Image Collections

Internet Searching

Using Images

  • Services
    Smith's Imaging Center, Library research help
  • Rights & Citations
    General guidelines, Smith guidelines, image citation formats

 

 

Image Research Help

Profile ImageBarbara Polowy
Chat requires JavaScript.
Ask the Art Library - Click here to begin


Contact Info:
(413) 585-2941
Brown Fine Arts Center
Hillyer Art Library 121
bpolowy@email.smith.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Visual Arts, Archaeology, Landscape Studies, Image Research

Reference Librarians

Profile ImageNeilson Reference
Chat requires JavaScript.


Contact Info:
413-585-2960
Send Email

 

Home | Research | Library Services | General Information | Smith Libraries & Collections | Need Help?


Smith College Home Page

Smith College Libraries, Northampton, MA 01063 | (413) 585-2910
Copyright © 2008 Smith College Libraries. All Rights Reserved.

Last Updated: May 5, 2008

Description

  Loading content... please wait