News Images: Current & HistoricalPictures in Print SourcesSmith College Libraries Special Collections
Reproductions in Print Sources
This is the "Home" page of the "Find Images" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Need Help?  Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Research Help Library Services About the Libraries Libraries & Collections

Find Images   Tags: illustrations, images, pictures, reproductions, research  

Picture Research Sources & Strategies
Last Updated: Oct 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/findimages Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About this Guide

This guide is intended to help researchers find and use images online, in print publications, and in Smith's unique special collections. It covers tools to find images such as indexes, catalogs, and Internet search engines, and provides extensive listings of image sources. These sources include historical and contemporary news media, editorial and advertising illustration, works of art, archival documents, and many other visual materials.

 

 

What's in this Guide

Attack on World Trade Center, New York, Sept 11 2001, Sean Adair/Reuters, CorbisGloria Steinem and Dorothy Pitman Hughes, photograph by Dan Wynn,  circa 1970, Smith College, Sophia Smith CollectionLion, Namibia, photograph by Frans Lanting, CorbisPeaceful ocean sunset, photo by Scott Barrow, CorbisParthenon, South architrave and frieze, AThens, Greece, photo by Susan Silberberg-Pierce, Canyonlights, ARTstor

People, Places, Things & Events

  • Digital Images
    Photo agencies and other commercial sources, public collections
  • News & Historical Photos
    News photo and footage databases, full-text historical newspapers and periodicals, Smith's archival collections
  • Pictures in Print Sources
    Pictures in books and magazines, illustration indexes, important illustrated periodicals in the libraries' collections
  • Smith College Special Collections
    Digital and print materials in the College Archives, Sophia Smith Collection, and Mortimer Rare Book Room

Works of Art

  • Digital Images
    Image databases, images in national and other digital research libraries, online museum catalogs, general and specialized digital collections
  • Reproductions in Print Sources
    Art images in books and periodicals, indexes to reproductions of works of art, Smith's Image Collections

Internet Searching

Using Images

  • Services
    Smith's Imaging Center, Library research help
  • Rights & Citations
    General guidelines, Smith guidelines, image citation formats

     

    Image Research Help

    Profile Image
    Barbara Polowy
    Chat requires JavaScript.
    Ask the Art Library - Click here to begin
    Contact Info
    (413) 585-2941
    Brown Fine Arts Center
    Hillyer Art Library 121
    bpolowy@email.smith.edu
    Send Email

    TLR: Libraries Teaching, Learning & Research Group

    Profile Image
    Neilson Reference Desk Staff
    Chat requires JavaScript.
    Contact Info
    (413) 585-2960
    Send Email
     
    footer Smith College Web Smith College Directory Smith College Moodle Course Management System Smith College email Smith College BannerWeb system Smith College Libraries on Facebook Smith College Libraries Mobile Website Smith College Libraries Suggestion Box
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip