Documents 60,000 works of art in all media produced from apostolic times through the 15th century with Christian themes or for ecclesiastical settings. Entries give bibliographies, scholarly commentaries, and images (over 100,000 are included in the database)
10,000 portraits in all media are included in this standard reference source for British biography (no living subjects are included). Images can be searched by sitter, artist, date. Biographies also includes lists of other portraits of the subject.
Information on 20,000 Renaissance works of art documenting 10,000 antique monuments illustrated by 30,000 photographs. Links Renaissance sources with the antique works they document, their locations, dates, names, and modern bibliographical citations.
More than two million digital images of works of art and other cultural materials ranging from standard art history survey material to specialized collections on modern design, Islamic art, women's history, and many other areas.
More than 10,000 images from Getty holdings across the institution. Includes "drawings and watercolors, artists’ sketchbooks, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks and 19th-century photographs of the Middle East and Asia... The Getty plans to continue to add images, until eventually all applicable Getty-owned or public domain images are available, without restrictions, online."
A "gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items in a variety of formats from more than 100 historical collections."
Search engine for Australia-related images of "people, places and events in the collections of libraries, museums, galleries, archives, universities and other cultural agencies, in Australia and abroad." Includes works of art in all media, contemporary news and historical photos, historical objects and printed materials.
650,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, fashion plates, and other printed ephemera.
A collection of over 100,000 digital images from educational institutions around Britain. Includes images from Britain's National Inventory
of Continental European Paintings and Public Monuments and Sculpture Association survey. Especially strong in design-related material.
"a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 12th to mid-19th centuries. It was started in 1996 as a topical site of the Renaissance art, originated in the Italian city-states of the 14th century and spread to other countries in the 15th and 16th centuries. Intending to present Renaissance art as comprehensively as possible, the scope of the collection was later extended to show its Medieval roots as well as its evolution to Baroque and Rococo via Mannerism. More recently the periods of Neoclassicism and Romanticism were also included."
California State University's IMAGE Project "contains almost 75,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. WorldImages is accessible anywhere and its images may be freely used for non-profit educational purposes."
Corsair, the library's online collection catalog, provides links to more than 28,000 of images (with full descriptions and cataloging information) of almost 400 medieval and Renaissance manuscripts from all mjaor schools. Users can browse through a list of the digitized manuscripts, search by type, country, and date, or perform a subject search.