Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Discover: Start here for books, articles & more.
- Use "Login for full access" at the top of the screen and enter your Smith login.
Discover Advanced Search includes limiting options.
Watch a video tutorial on how to do an advanced search using the Libraries' Discover search box.
Museum Exhibition Techniques
The Care and Display of Historic Clothing by Wearable textiles hold their own stories of trade, manufacture and regionalism, just to name a few; they also tell a personal tale of the individuals who created our history. When we look at a piece of clothing, a coat, a dress, an undergarment, we see an item that is more personal, more closely related to the human body than nearly anything else it comes in contact with throughout the day. Garments can do far more for exhibitions and interpretation than merely providing a bit of color and beauty. Clothing is both artistic and utilitarian and is capable of adding so much to the story of who we are and where we came from. The Care and Display of Historic Clothing aims to assist with the full integration of costume collections into the interpretation of the past. Often relied on for their ability to add beauty and color to exhibitions, these collection items provide a very personal side to any story at a given moment in history. The topics explored in this publication range from the care and identification of items in a costume collection to discussions about both physical display and how they can be used to engage audiences. The book's focus is on costume collections and discussion topics will include information in regards to -costume collection storage, -display techniques, -basic identification, and -ideas on how to incorporate costumes into exhibitions and programming. A list of further resources at the back of the book helps provide supplemental, in-depth information on individual areas. The layout of this work will aim to provide information that slowly leads from understanding your costume collection and obtaining physical control to incorporating it in a significant and informative way into the work of the organization. Providing all of these resources in one place will make the incorporation of costumes a more obtainable goal for small to mid-sized museums and historical societies.
Call Number: Hillyer NK4704.5 .D47 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Exhibit Labels by Provides exhibit designers and label writers with a step-by-step guidebook for planning, writing and producing exhibit labels.
Call Number: Hillyer AM157 .S46 1996
Publication Date: 1996
Search the Five College Library Catalog for more books on museum exhibition techniques and interpretation using the following "subject begins with" terms:
- Museum exhibits
- Museum labels
- Museum techniques
- Costume mounting (display technique)
Ask Us for Help
Teaching, Learning & Research Librarians
Subjects: Africana Studies
, American Studies
, Computer Science
, Data Science & Statistics
, Environmental Science & Policy
, Exercise & Sport Studies
, First Year Seminar
, French Studies
, History of Science
, Jewish Studies
, Kahn Institute
, Medieval Studies
, Presidential Seminars
, Russian, East European and Eurasian Studies
, Social Work
, Summer Programs
, World Literatures