Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Local News & Information
Access World News [NewsBank] (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new windowCurrent and archived news content including local, state, national and international newspapers, broadcast transcripts, news wires, news blogs, video, etc.
America's Historical Newspapers 1690-1922 This link opens in a new windowCover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, based on the Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers series.
Daily Hampshire Gazette [NewsBank] 1994+ This link opens in a new windowCovers local news, sports, and classifieds for Northampton and surrounding towns.
Databases for Articles
Alternative Press Index and Archive [EBSCO] 1969+ This link opens in a new window
Indexes hundreds of alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political & social change.
America: History & Life with Full Text [EBSCO] 1953+ This link opens in a new windowExtensive index to 1,700 journals, books, and dissertations on American and Canadian history, popular culture, anthropology, sociology, economics, education, and politics.
Ethnic NewsWatch [ProQuest] 1960+ This link opens in a new window
Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Gender Studies Database [EBSCO] 1972+ with some earlier coverage This link opens in a new window
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies Database, with added coverage on sexual diversity issues; includes a wide array of scholarly and popular sources.
GenderWatch [ProQuest] 1970+ This link opens in a new window
Full text publications on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full text backfiles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus 30,000 eBooks.
LGBTQ+ Source [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core journals on gay, lesbian, bisexual & transgender issues including civil liberties, culture, work, family, history, psychology, religion, sociology, etc.
The Directory of Open Access Journals also lists hundreds of international journals on gender, feminism, and sexuality studies that are freely available to to the public:
Get help from Esther Roth-Katz