Discover Advanced Search (Catalog Only)
SIGN IN first to use Place Request—get books from other campuses
eBook Collections
Ebooks from these collections are included in the Library catalog or Discover. This list provides alternate access points.
- Ebook Central [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window A very large collection of eBooks, mostly scholarly, spanning the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. If you’re using your own laptop or desktop, install Adobe Digital Editions; for offline reading, go to the App Store or Google Play to download the Bluefire app for iOS and Android devices. Help.
- eBook Collection [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Full text eBooks on a broad range of reference, scholarly and professional topics. Includes books formerly in netLibrary.
- HathiTrust This link opens in a new window Full text books & journals digitized by HathiTrust partner libraries, Google, the Internet Archive, etc. Includes searchable access to over 10 million volumes total; 3 million public domain volumes are fully viewable online and allow downloading one page at a time. Complements Google Books.
- Historical Book Sources The "Find Primary Sources" research guide includes links to
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Complete full text articles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus eBooks. JSTOR’s image search (formerly Artstor) contains more than 2+ million images. It includes Smith College collections developed to meet teaching needs in the arts, humanities, and sciences, as well as images of works from the Smith College Museum.
Books to Check Out
Invisible Families by
Mignon R. Moore brings to light the family life of a group that has been largely invisible--gay women of color--in a book that challenges long-standing ideas about racial identity, family formation, and motherhood. Drawing from interviews and surveys of one hundred black gay women in New York City, Invisible Families explores the ways that race and class have influenced how these women understand their sexual orientation, find partners, and form families.
Publication Date: 2011-10-17
Scars by
Scars is a novel about whiteness, racism, and breaking past the normative boundaries of heterosexuality, as experienced through eighteen year old Savannah Penelope Sales. Savannah is a Black girl, born and raised in a white, working class, and rural New England town.
Publication Date: 2015-03-18
With Her Machete in Her Hand by Publication Date: 2010-09-01
