News Collections
-
Access World News [NewsBank] (Coverage varies by title)
This link opens in a new window
Current and archived news content including local, state, national and international newspapers, broadcast transcripts, news wires, news blogs, video, etc.
-
Independent Voices: A Collection of an Alternative Press
This link opens in a new window
Alternative press newspapers, magazines & journals from the latter half of the 20th century, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries.
-
Nexis Uni (Coverage varies by title)
This link opens in a new window
New Lexis-Nexis interface, with a single search box, plus filters to refine searches; users are encouraged to register for an ID & password, to take advantage of personalization features. Covers a wide range of news, business, legal & reference information; includes federal & state laws & cases.
-
PressReader
This link opens in a new window
Access the most current editions of over 4,000 newspapers & magazines from more than 100 countries in 60 languages.
Individual News Publications
-
Ms. Magazine Archive (1972-present) [ProQuest]
This link opens in a new window
Digital access to every issue of the influential feminist magazine, Ms., from its launch in 1972 to the present, including iconic covers, articles, essays, interviews, book reviews, original fiction, and poetry, which document the evolution of feminist thought and social change.
-
New York Times, 1851+
This link opens in a new window
Full text access to current issues and a complete archive (does not include the Crossword). For full access, you must first create an account at http://accessnyt.com/. Search for and select "Smith College – Northampton, MA” You will be redirected to the NYT registration page where you can create an account with your smith.edu email address. Account will be fully active once you verify via the confirmation email. Spanish and Chinese language editions are also available.
