Ask Us / Meet with Us
Zotero
Zotero ("zoh-TAIR-oh") is a free research tool that allows you to:
- Collect & organize citations
- Attach PDFs, notes, and images to your citations
- Cite sources within your paper
Learn more at Zotero.org or visit the Smith Libraries guide to Zotero.
- Introduction to Zotero In this video learn about the citation management tool Zotero and how it can help you to organize and manage your research materials.
APA Style (American Psychological Association)
- American Psychological Association (APA) Style - (Purdue Online Writing Lab)Format for APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
- Reference Quick Guide, APA 7th edition APA website (2 page pdf)
- Free access to APA Style tutorials Access to Basics of APA Style. Other tutorials remain on the APA Style website through July 1, 2020.
- Zotero Style Repository: APA Select APA 7th styles for annotated bibliographies, abstracts, etc.
Write & Cite Government Documents
- APA 7th Reference List: Other Print SourcesPurdue Online Writing Lab gives examples for government documents with URLs.
- A Micro Guide to Citing Legal Materials in APA Style Explains the elements of APA citation style for court cases, state and federal laws, as well as bills, hearings, resolutions. From the UNC School of Social Work.
- How to Write a Health Policy Brief Clear instructions and tips on how to develop and write a policy brief. Focuses on translating clinical experience into policy.
Annotated Bibliographies
- How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography Cornell University Library guide. Provides an excellent explanation of the annotated bibliography format, guidance on what to include in annotations, and examples of entries.
- Annotated Bibliography Samples Purdue University's OWL (Online Writing Lab) presents an example and sample annotations, including one with APA citation style (scroll down to find an APA example).
Help Finding the Digital Object Identifier (DOI)
- DOIs and URLsguidance from APA (7th edition)
- Free DOI Lookup (CrossRef)Simple Text Query finds persistent links for your reference list or bibliography