Social Policy
- Access World News [NewsBank] (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window Current and archived news content including local, state, national and international newspapers, broadcast transcripts, news wires, news blogs, video, etc.
- Congress.gov (successor to THOMAS) Browse by by topic. Also see "Legislation by Congress".
- CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window Comprehensive information on American government, politics, elections, law, public policy, and current affairs. Includes the CQ Researcher.
- govinfofree access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Links to executive and congressional documents, including Congressional hearings.
- Nexis Uni (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window New Lexis-Nexis interface, with a single search box, plus filters to refine searches; users are encouraged to register for an ID & password, to take advantage of personalization features. Covers a wide range of news, business, legal & reference information; includes federal & state laws & cases.
- ProQuest Congressional 1789+ This link opens in a new window Congressional Indexes, Publications, Testimony, Bills, Laws, and more. Includes Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, Part A: 1824-1979 and Part B: 1980-2003.
- USA.gov Searches state and federal websites
Policy Analysis for Social Issues
Search the web with a custom search. Find position papers, briefings, reports, and more from organizations recommended by SSW faculty:
- Child Welfare Information Gateway Find publications, state resources, topics, adoption statistics and more.
Print Books
Social Policy and Social Change by
The introductory text used in Smith's social policy course sequence in on RESERVE in the Library. The Second Edition of Social Policy and Social Change is a timely examination of the field, unique in its inclusion of both a historical analysis of problems and policy and an exploration of how capitalism and the market economy have contributed to them. The New Edition of this seminal text examines issues of discrimination, health care, housing, income, and child welfare and considers the policies that strive to improve them. With a focus on how domestic social policies can be transformed to promote social justice for all groups, Jimenez et al. consider the impact of globalization in the United States while addressing developing concerns now emerging in the global village.
ISBN: 1452268339Publication Date: 2014-03-11
