Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

World War II Special Collections Resources: Home

Resources related to World War II in Smith College Special Collections

What is Special Collections?

Smith College Special Collections is a unit within Smith College Libraries. As a special collections library, it is home to materials outside the general library collection, including rare books, archives (historic records), manuscripts, maps, oral history interviews, and audiovisual material. These materials do not circulate outside of the library and are used onsite in the Reading Room. The Reading Room is open to all researchers working on a variety of projects including fiction books, art pieces, documentaries, family history, academic publications, and coursework. 

For more information about Smith College Special Collections, please visit our website.

Overview

Materials related to World War II are found in the Sophia Smith Collection of Women’s History, a part of Smith College Special Collections. Smith College Special Collections comprises the Mortimer Rare Book Collection, the Smith College Archives and the Sophia Smith Collection of Women’s History.

Read the “Scope and Contents” and the "Biographical/Historical" notes in the finding aids for more information on each individual collection.
 

Ask an archivist

For questions about the collection, digital resources, and digitization requests...

please email specialcollections@smith.edu

 

Staff are here to help, but the best place to start is by emailing specialcollections@smith.edu!

College Archives
Nanci Young
nyoung@smith.edu

Mortimer Rare Book Collection
Shannon Supple
ssupple@smith.edu

Sophia Smith Collection
Maureen Cresci Callahan
mcallahan@smith.edu

Research Services
Kate Long
klong@smith.edu