Outside of our official miniature collection, other miniature materials can also be found in our Juvenile, Raymo Chaucer, and Carter collections. Additionally, we have 370 cuneiform tablets dating from 2700-500 BC. While these items are not officially in our miniature collection, they do fit the size stipulation and researchers are encouraged to explore them. 

Within our Juvenile collection, you can often expect to find miniature Bibles or small books of lessons and stories intended for young children in the 19th century. Our Carter collection contains teaching materials about the bookmaking process and different physical aspects of books. In our Raymo Chaucer collection, we have an extraordinary number of Chaucer-related materials of all shapes and sizes - including a couple of mini ones! In fact, this collection contains our smallest codex across our entire Special Collections measuring in at just ½” x ¾”.

All miniature books require great craftsmanship and attention to detail but our more modern miniature books are characterized by unique and artistic stylistic decisions that build upon the binding and printing practices of their miniature bookmaker predecessors. Our more recent materials tend to be artist’s books which can take on a variety of forms. Some of our more unique materials include books bound in non-traditional fashions, such as one which is set between two halves of a cork, and accordion-style bindings, one of which is encased in a matchbox.

• If you want to find a cool artist book, ask for something from Lime Rock Press! We have 9 books from them that are each a treasure
• Ask for one of the highlighted materials in the next tab
• Take a look at the genres we have available in the list below and choose from there!

The Butterfly’s Ball and the Grasshopper’s Feast by William Roscoe and Sarah Chamberlain. 1977.

From the Juvenile Collection:

• History of the Bible JUV 1825 H629
• Pictures of Roman History, in miniature JUV 1811 M624p
• The Little Robinson Crusoe JUV 1841 D362I

From the Carter Collection:

• Brilliants: a setting of humorous poetry in Brilliant types Carter: Miniature book

Artist Books:

• Seeds Collection by Beverly Duncan Mini QK166.D86
• Where Tigers Roar in Silence Mini 655.173 L629 [a book of riddles!]
• Spring Pools Mini 655.173 L629 [beautiful illustrations!]
• Adam's Diary Mini 655.173 L629 [Mark Twain in a gold-embossed wooden box]
• Alphabetarium Mini 655.173 C355al [the alphabet, illustrated]
• The Rest of My Life Mini N7433.4 H38 R4 2000 [a self-documentation of the life of a breast cancer patient]

19th Century and earlier:

• Sacrae Litaniae variae Mini 264.02 Sa14 1675 [includes woodcut illustration]
• History of the Bible Mini BS447 .H58 1825 [teeny tiny!]
• La Gerusalemme liberata Mini PQ4638 .D22 (1822) [uncut edges]
• The thumb Bible Mini PR2382 .V4 1889 [beautiful typography with pops of red]