Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Good Starting Places
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials [EBSCO] 1949+ This link opens in a new window
Covers religious and theological scholarship in 1,400 international journals and 14,000 books. Includes citations and some full text.
Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Full text for 10,000+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences from around the world.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full text backfiles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus 30,000 eBooks.
Literature, Art, History & Area Studies
European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (EBSEES) 1991-2007 This link opens in a new window
Lists books, journal articles, reviews and theses on Eastern Europe (formerly Communist countries) published in Western Europe. Covers social sciences, the humanities, literature, linguistics and art.
Eastview Universal Databases 1980+ This link opens in a new window
Full text Russian-language newspapers, both central and regional, plus Russian-language social sciences and humanities journals.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] 1956+ This link opens in a new window
Covers history after 1450, excluding U.S. and Canada; lists articles, books, book reviews, collections, and dissertations.
MLA International Bibliography [EBSCO] 1919+ This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to literature, language, linguistics and folklore in journal articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and more. From the Modern Language Association of America.
International Bibliography of Art [ProQuest] 2008+ This link opens in a new window
See Bibliography of the History of Art
for 1975-2007. Indexes literature on post-classical western art plus global art since 1945 in core journals, books, conference proceedings & exhibition catalogues.
Sociology, Anthropology & Politics
Anthropology Plus [EBSCO] late 19th century+ This link opens in a new window
Worldwide Index to journal articles, reports, and edited works in anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, etc. Draws together: Anthropological Literature (Harvard University) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute).
Sociological Abstracts [ProQuest] 1952+ This link opens in a new window
Abstracts for articles in 1,800+ journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations in the social and behavioral sciences.
Getting Articles Not at Smith