Librarian
Discover Advanced Search
Use Request Item to get books from other campuses
Articles & Databases
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials [EBSCO] 1949+ This link opens in a new window Covers religious and theological scholarship in 1,400 international journals and 14,000 books. Includes citations and some full text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Complete full text articles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus eBooks. JSTOR’s image search (formerly Artstor) contains more than 2+ million images. It includes Smith College collections developed to meet teaching needs in the arts, humanities, and sciences, as well as images of works from the Smith College Museum.
- Old Testament Abstracts [EBSCO] 1978+ This link opens in a new window Indexing and abstracting for journal articles, books, and essays in Old Testament studies.
Books about the Bible
- The Anchor Bible Summary: The Anchor Bible is known for its tradition of excellence in biblical scholarship and a commitment to advancing biblical understanding in the 21st century. The Anchor Yale Bible Series, previously the Anchor Bible Series, is a renowned publishing program that for more than 50 years has produced books devoted to the latest scholarship on the Bible and biblical topics.Call Number: BS192.2.A1 1964 .G3 (24)
The New Interpreter's Bible by
New Interpreter's#65533; Bible offers critically sound biblical interpretations for the 1990s and beyond. Guided by scholars, pastors, and laity representing diverse traditions, academic experience, and involvement in the Church, this entirely new collection of writings is specifically prepared to meet the needs of preachers, teachers, and all students of the Bible. Easy-to-use Format: * Full texts and critical notes: NIV and NRSV * A detailed, critical Commentary providing an exegetical "close-reading" of the biblical text * Reflections that present a detailed exposition of issues raised in the discussion and dealt with in the Commentary Key Features: * The entire Bible (including the Apocrypha Deuterocanonical books) in twelve volumes * Introductions to each book that cover essential historical, sociocultural, literary, and theological issues * An ecumenical roster of contributors * Comprehensive, concise articles * Numerous visual aids (illustrations, maps, charts, timelines) enhance use. Download The NIB Vol. 9 Errata Sheet
Call Number: Neilson Reference: BS491.2 .N484 1994ISBN: 9780687278220Publication Date: 1996-01-01
The following titles are marked as "classed separately" this means that each volume is located in the section of the stacks corresponding to the a specific biblical book.
To find the call number range for biblical commentaries on a specific book, see this guide by Lancaster Bible College.
To find additional commentaries, search Discover Advanced using the term "Bible [name of book] commentaries" (for example, "Bible Job commentaries").
The Anchor Bible Dictionary by
The fascinating story fo Francis fo Assisi, the Italian poet who gave himelf up to the service of the poor and was happy in possessing nothing.
Call Number: Neilson Reference: BS440 .A54 1992ISBN: 0385193602Publication Date: 1992-06-01
The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism by
The Dictionary of Early Judaism is the first reference work devoted exclusively to Second Temple Judaism (fourth century b.c.e. through second century c.e.). The first section of this substantive and incredible work contains thirteen major essays that attempt to synthesize major aspects of Judaism in the period between Alexander and Hadrian. The second ? and significantly longer ? section offers 520 entries arranged alphabetically. Many of these entries have cross-references and all have select bibliographies. Equal attention is given to literary and nonliterary (i.e. archaeological and epigraphic) evidence and New Testament writings are included as evidence for Judaism in the first century c.e. Several entries also give pertinent information on the Hebrew Bible. The Dictionary of Early Judaism is intended to not only meet the needs of scholars and students ? at which it succeeds admirably ? but also to provide accessible information for the general reader. It is ecumenical and international in character, bringing together nearly 270 authors from as many as twenty countries and including Jews, Christians, and scholars of no religious affiliation.
Call Number: Neilson Reference: BM176 .E34 2010ISBN: 9780802825490Publication Date: 2010-11-11
Encyclopaedia Judaica by
Includes more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
ISBN: 9780028660974Publication Date: 2006-12-01- Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception Online The Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (EBR) is the first and only comprehensive reference work devoted to the Bible and its reception. Since the publication of its first two volumes in 2009, EBR has continued to break new ground and is an indispensable reference work not only for theology and religious studies, but also for the humanities, the arts, cultural studies, and the social sciences. As its foundation, the encyclopedia contains the most up-to-date information on the origins and development of the Bible in the canons of Judaism and Christianity. It then documents the history of biblical interpretation and reception, not only in Christianity and Judaism, but also in Islam and other non-Western religious traditions and movements.
New Catholic Encyclopedia by
This 15 volume, second edition features revised and new articles. Among the 12,000 entries in the encyclopedia are articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780787676940Publication Date: 2004-04-01
New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible by
This dictionary will become the first place Bible readers look for reliable scholarship. - A-Z alphabetical order - Main entries Hebrew Greek Transliteration - Contributors are respected scholars in their fields - Summary introductions - Cross-references - Helpful outlines - Bibliography - Maps, charts, and illustrations
Call Number: Neilson Reference: BS440 .N445 2006ISBN: 9780687333653Publication Date: 2008-05-01
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament by
This multivolume work is still proving to be as fundamental to Old Testament studies as its companion set, the Kittel-Friedrich "Theological Dictionary of the New Testament," has been to New Testament studies.The "TDOT" volumes present in-depth discussions of the key Hebrew and Aramaic words in the Old Testament. Leading scholars of various religious traditions (including Roman Catholic, Lutheran, Reformed, Anglican, Greek Orthodox, and Jewish) and from many parts of the world (Denmark, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Israel, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United States) have been carefully selected for each article by editors Botterweck, Ringgren, and Fabry and their consultants, George W. Anderson, Henri Cazelles, David Noel Freedman, Shemaryahu Talmon, and Gerhard Wallis.The intention of the writers is to concentrate on "meaning," starting from the more general, everyday senses and building to an understanding of theologically significant concepts. To avoid artificially restricting the focus of the articles, "TDOT" considers under each keyword the larger groups of words that are related linguistically or semantically. The lexical work includes detailed surveys of a word's occurrences, not only in biblical material but also in other ancient Near Eastern writings. Sumerian, Akkadian, Egyptian, Ethiopic, Ugaritic, and Northwest Semitic sources are surveyed, among others, as well as the Qumran texts and the Septuagint; and in cultures where no cognate word exists, the authors often consider cognate ideas."TDOT'"s emphasis, though, is on Hebrew terminology and on biblical usage. The contributors employ philology as well as form-critical and traditio-historical methods, with the aim of understanding the religious statements in the Old Testament. Extensive bibliographical information adds to the value of this reference work.This English edition attempts to serve the needs of Old Testament students without the linguistic background of more advanced scholars; it does so, however, without sacrificing the needs of the latter. Ancient scripts (Hebrew, Greek, etc.) are regularly transliterated in a readable way, and meanings of foreign words are given in many cases where the meanings might be obvious to advanced scholars. Where the Hebrew text versification differs from that of English Bibles, the English verse appears in parentheses. Such features will help all earnest students of the Bible to avail themselves of the manifold theological insights contained in this monumental work."
Call Number: Neilson Reference: BS440 .B5713 1977ISBN: 0802823386Publication Date: 1996-11-01
