Getting Started
- Congress and the Nation [CQ Press] Provides perspective and analysis of the U.S. Congress. It is the authoritative reference on Congressional trends, actions, and controversies.
- CQ Almanac 1945+ This link opens in a new window Summary and analysis of major U.S. legislation, with tables, graphs & charts. Browse by subject, decade, or year; use Policy Tracker to explore a specific policy topic. Discontinued with 2017.
- CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window Comprehensive information on American government, politics, elections, law, public policy, and current affairs. Includes the CQ Researcher.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window A scholar-curated library of subject bibliographies in the humanities & social sciences; each entry offers a guided tour through key literature on a topic.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window Review essays evaluating the current thinking on a field or topic. Articles review the key issues, reveal original arguments and concepts, and set the agenda for new research.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window Reference dictionaries and companions, including illustrations, web links, and searching individual titles or by subject area; from Oxford University Press.
- Political Handbook of the World [CQ Press] This link opens in a new window Thorough and accurate information on every country's government and political party system, with key facts and current issues.
- Encyclopedia of Social Work [Oxford] This link opens in a new window Over 400 overview articles on key topics related to social work, ranging from international issues to ethical standards.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences [ScienceDirect] This link opens in a new window Provides a broad overview of the social and behavioral sciences. Topics include anthropology, archaeology, demography, economics, education, geography, history, law, linguistics, philosophy, political science, psychiatry, psychology, and sociology. It comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
- Politics in America [CQ] Profiles of members of Congress - personalities, political styles, legislative agendas, political ambitions, and reputations.
Find encyclopedias and more
Find articles in thousands of Smith's scholarly reference sources.
Search for online and print encyclopedias:
Keywords:
Enter your search terms:
Search tip: try simple words/phrases (e.g., buddhism; slav*; french revolution)