Research Guides: LALS : Latin American and Latino/a Studies: Articles/Databases

Core Databases

This section includes some Best Bets, or databases that have been deemed most relevant for initial or beginning research of Latin American and Latino/a Studies.

Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Full text for 10,000+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences from around the world.
Handbook of Latin American Studies 1935+ This link opens in a new window A bibliography on Latin America edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
HAPI : Hispanic American Periodicals Index 1970+ This link opens in a new window Citations to articles and other materials from 400+ journals, on Central & South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, U.S.-Mexico border & U.S. Hispanics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Complete full text articles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus eBooks. JSTOR’s image search (formerly Artstor) contains more than 2+ million images. It includes Smith College collections developed to meet teaching needs in the arts, humanities, and sciences, as well as images of works from the Smith College Museum.

Additional Databases

Here you will find additional databases that are relevant to the study of Latin American and Latino/a Studies.

America: History & Life with Full Text [EBSCO] 1953+ This link opens in a new window Extensive index to 1,700 journals, books, and dissertations on American and Canadian history, popular culture, anthropology, sociology, economics, education, and politics.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index [Web of Science] 1975+ This link opens in a new window Bibliographic and citation information for journal articles from over 1,700 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.
Ethnic NewsWatch [ProQuest] 1960+ This link opens in a new window Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] 1956+ This link opens in a new window Covers history after 1450, excluding U.S. and Canada; lists articles, books, book reviews, collections, and dissertations.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective [EBSCO] 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window Indexes 1,200 scholarly journals and specialized magazines in the social sciences and humanities; with citations to book reviews.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) [ProQuest] 1951+ This link opens in a new window Indexes 2,600+ international journals in economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology. From the British Library of Political & Economic Science.
MLA International Bibliography [EBSCO] 1919+ This link opens in a new window Extensive index to literature, language, linguistics and folklore in journal articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and more. From the Modern Language Association of America.
PAIS International [ProQuest] 1915+ This link opens in a new window Covers current affairs, social and public policy issues in articles, books, hearings, reports, government publications, Internet resources, and more from 120 countries.
Social Sciences Citation Index [Web of Science] 1898+ This link opens in a new window Bibliographic and citation from 3,000 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines.

Notable Journals

Below you will find a short list of journals that may be relevant to the study of Latin American and Latino/a Studies.

Aztlán: A Journal of Chicano Studies Aztlán presents original research that is relevant to or informed by the Chicano experience.
Caribbean Studies The journal publishes twice a year original works on the Social Sciences and the Humanities in English, Spanish and French languages. It is written and edited by and for Caribbeanists and other persons keenly interested in keeping up with the ongoing research and writing in the field of Caribbean Studies
CENTRO: Journal of the Center for Puerto Rican Studies The leading peer-reviewed academic journal dedicated entirely to the field of Puerto Rican Studies. The journal—published continuously since 1987—is dedicated to publishing the latest work from scholars in a wide range of academic traditions, in order to enhance and advance the field of Puerto Rican Studies.
Hispanic Review The Hispanic Review is a quarterly journal devoted to research in Hispanic literary and cultural studies.
Journal of Caribbean History JCH is dedicated to the publishing of original, rigorous research papers of a high quality that addresses all aspects of Caribbean history in the mainland territories of North, Central and South America.
Journal of Latin American Studies Journal of Latin American Studies presents recent research in the field of Latin American studies in development studies, economics, geography, history, politics and international relations, public policy, sociology and social anthropology.
Latino Studies This journal explores the local, national, transnational, and hemispheric realities that influence the Latina and Latino presence in the United States.