The ultimate intention is to secure a more penetrating comprehension of landscape evolution and an overall narrative account of landscape prehistory and history, together with an understanding of how this has influenced, and may usefully guide, the management of the present-day landscape.
by Charles A. Birnbaum and Robin Karson. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2000.
Biographical profiles of 160 American landscape architects covering the 18th through the second half of the 20th century. Each entry includes bibliographic citations, archive information, lists of public sites. Illustrated.
International coverage of architecture, architectural sculpture, city planning, and landscape architecture in 1,000 periodicals. Selective coverage back to the 1860s.
Oxford Art OnlineThis collection of art encyclopedias and dictionaries includes a comprehensive survey article, Landscape, articles on special aspects of the, and addresses the topic in sections of general articles about the arts and culture of civilizations and countries. It has an excellent survey on garden design, types of gardens, other types of cultural landscapes, specific sites and monuments, places, and individual landscape designers. Each article is supplemented by a bibliography of major primary and secondary sources.
Websites, resources, and tips on researching buildings from UCLA Library.
Oxford Bibliographies OnlineA scholar-curated library of subject bibliographies in the humanities & social sciences; each entry offers a guided tour through key literature on a topic.
Oxford Reference OnlineReference dictionaries and companions, including illustrations, web links, and searching individual titles or by subject area; from Oxford University Press.
Routledge Handbooks OnlineDRM-free handbooks offering peer-reviewed research articles in the humanities, social sciences, education, psychology, engineering & built environment. Chapters can be browsed, searched, viewed & downloaded.
Sage KnowledgeIncludes handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and substantive texts from Sage.
View high-level statistics about an area regarding people and population, race and ethnicity, families and living arrangements, health, education, business and economy, employment, housing, and income and poverty.