Research Guides: HST383: U.S. Women's History: Researching People of Color at Smith: Smith History

Weaving Voices Archive

Weaving Voices Archive
"The Weaving Voices Archives Project was started in the fall of 2012. Its purpose is to document and make public the histories of students of color on Smith’s campus, with a focus on recording past and present student activism and promoting communal healing. "

Smith College Finding Aids

Smith College Finding Aids (ArchivesSpace) This link opens in a new window
Finding aids to over 1,000 Smith College archival and manuscript collections. Provides in-depth information about a collection, and a box listing of the materials.

Newspapers

Smith College Associated News (SCAN, 1911-1952)
A complete run of SCAN is available in the Smith College Archives and can be accessed in the Special Collections Reading Room
Current (1948-1952)
The Precursor to the Sophian, a complete run of Current is available in the Smith College Archives and can be accessed in the Special Collections Reading Room
The Sophian (1952 - Present)
A complete run of the Sophian is available in the Smith College Archives and can be accessed in the Special Collections Reading Room
The Sophian - Online Access (2012 - Present)

Daily Hampshire Gazette [NewsBank] 1994+ This link opens in a new window Covers local news, sports, and classifieds for Northampton and surrounding towns.
Republican (Springfield, MA) 1850-1987 This link opens in a new window
Part of America's Historical Newspapers. To search just this title, click on Places of Publication / Massachusetts, then scroll to the Springfield listings (Springfield Republican, Springfield Union, etc.)
Republican (Springfield, MA) 1988+. MLIN This link opens in a new window
Under Access World News, click on "United States," then "Massachusetts," then scroll down and click on "Republican, The".

Access World News [NewsBank] (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window Current and archived news content including local, state, national and international newspapers, broadcast transcripts, news wires, news blogs, video, etc.
Alternative Press Index and Archive [EBSCO] 1969+ This link opens in a new window Indexes hundreds of alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political & social change.
Ethnic NewsWatch [ProQuest] 1960+ This link opens in a new window Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
New York Times, 1851+ This link opens in a new window Full text access to current issues and a complete archive (does not include The Crossword). The first time you click on this link, you will be prompted to create your own New York Times account, using your Smith email address. After that you can go directly to nytimes.com or use the NYTimes app from anywhere, on any device and gain full access with the login you've created. Spanish and Chinese language editions also available. Faculty and staff need to refresh their account annually.
New York Times Historical [ProQuest] 1851+ (lacks current 4 years) This link opens in a new window Full text, including images, of the New York Times, excluding the most recent 4 years.

Smith College Archives

College Archives - Digital Collections Smith Digital Collections is a gateway to digital collections and online exhibitions unique to Smith College.
Smith College History (Bibliography)
Responding and Organizing Against Racism at Smith (Bibliography)
Student Publications in the Archives A full listing of the Archives holding of student publications can be found in the "Undergraduate Life Records" Collection. Look for "Student Publications" int he right hand navigation menu. To view items in this collection please visit the Special Collections Reading Room.

Visiting Smith Special Collections

Special Collections is offering services online and remotely. Minimal reference services will be managed remotely by staff.

Reference inquiries that require materials investigation will be held in order of when they were received and responded to once the campus is opened. Digitization services are not available at this time.

Please submit all questions and requests to specialcollections@smith.edu.