Comments & Questions
Click here to provide feedback on this library session and follow up with any questions about topics covered in the class.
Words & People
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowThe major English-language covering both historical and current usage.
- American National Biography This link opens in a new windowReliable scholarly biographies of major figures in American history.
- The Color of Words: An Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Ethnic Bias in the United StatesCall number: ref E 184.A1 H466 1997
Encyclopedias
Use these sources for background information and a list of suggested readings. This list is selective; please ask at the reference desk for other suggestions.
Black Women in America (3 vols.)Call Number: SC Neilson Reference/1 North ; E 185.86 .B542 2005Included in Oxford African American Studies Center - see link below.- Oxford African American Studies CenterIncludes all articles from these core reference works (in addition to drawing from other sources): Black Women in America; African American National Biography; Africana; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; and Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present.
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas (6 vols.)Call Number: ref E 185 .E54 2006
- Encyclopedia of African American Society (2 vols.)Call Number: ref E 185 .E546 2005
- The African American Experience: An Historiographical and Bibliographical Guide.Call Number: ref E 184.65 .A37 2001
- Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and Culture (3 vols.)Call Number: ref DT 16.5 .E53 2008
- Slavery in the United States: A Social, Political, and Historical Encyclopedia (2 vols.)Call Number: ref E 441 .S635 2007
- World of a Slave: Encyclopedia of the Material Life of Slaves in the United States (2 vols.)Call Number: ref E 441 .W895 2011
- Encyclopedia of American Social History (3 vols.)Call Number: ref HN 57 .E58 1993
