Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American National Biography
Call Number: ref CT 213 .A68 1999
A "must search" for biographical information and leads on primary/secondary sources
Biography Index Indexes articles, books, and autobiographies for people from antiquity to the present and from all fields and nationalities.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index Indexes reference sources containing biographical entries on individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and region of the world. Use when other sources fail.
Access World News [NewsBank] (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new windowCovers many local and regional newspapers, both current and historical.
Nexis Uni (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new windowCovers local, regional and national newspapers, from more recent years.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from the Atlanta Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, New York Tribune, Washington Post, and Los Angeles Times, from their start dates to within the past few years.
Use these sources for background information and a list of suggested readings. This list is selective; please ask at the reference desk for other suggestions.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Includes major reference works such as African American National Biography, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, etc.
The African American Experience by Compared to the early decades of the 20th century, when scholarly writing on African Americans was limited to a few titles on slavery, Reconstruction, and African American migration, the last thirty years have witnessed an explosion of works on the African American experience. With the Civil Rights and Black Power movements of the 1960s came an increasing demand for the study and teaching of African American history followed by the publication of increasing numbers of titles on African American life and history. This volume provides a comprehensive bibliographical and analytical guide to this growing body of literature as well as an analysis of how the study of African Americans has changed.
Publication Date: 2000-11-30
Black America by This two-volume encyclopedia presents a state-by-state history of African Americans in the 50 states and the District of Columbia. * Contributions from experts in various fields * Coverage includes timeline, historical overview, notables, cultural contributions, and bibliography * Boasts numerous historical photos
Call Number: Annex ref E 185 .B537 2011 - can be requested
Publication Date: 2011-08-23
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History This second edition is an expansion of the 1996 classic and its 2000 supplement. Whereas the first edition focused almost exclusively on the United States, this new set identifies and addresses broad themes critical to understanding the texture of the cultures, achievements, challenges, and promise of the 150 million people of African descent who live in North America, Central and South America, and the Caribbean. It is an authoritative and comprehensive information about Black history, figures, and accomplishments throughout the Americas now have a defining and current reference.
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
Encyclopedia of African American Society by The Encyclopedia of African American Society is the first comprehensive and accessible reference set in this field to give voice to the turbulent trends, past and present, that are often ignored in favor of mere facts. Although numerous biographical, chronological and bibliographical reference works exist, none seeks to capture, in a single set, the ways in which the tenets and foundations of African American culture have given rise to today′s society. This two-volume encyclopedia fills the gap and has become a staple in collections in school, public and academic libraries. The encyclopedia is anchored by alphabetically arranged essays on such topics as abolitionism, affirmative action, and the civil rights movement, and contains hundreds of shorter articles on notable African Americans, groundbreaking events, sports and culture, labor and significant heritage sites. Key Features Over 700 signed articles, organized A-Z More than 50 photographs Reader′s guide facilitates easy browsing for relevant articles Comprehensive index and bibliography Topics Covered Concepts and Theories Fine Arts, Theater, and Entertainment Health and Education History and Heritage Literature Media Movements and Events Music and Dance Organizations and Institutions Places Politics and Policy Popular Culture Religion and Beliefs The Road to Freedom Science, Technology, and Business Social Issues Special Populations Sports Advisory Board
Publication Date: 2005-02-01
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora by The authoritative source for information on the people, places, and events of the African Diaspora, spanning five continents and five centuries. * More than 500 A-Z entries * Contributions from hundreds of leading scholars * Maps showing key locations in the African Diaspora
Call Number: Annex ref DT 16.5 .E53 2008 - can be requested
Publication Date: 2008-07-29
Slavery in the United States by A comprehensive, contextual presentation of all aspects--social, political, and economic--of slavery in the United States, from the first colonization through Reconstruction. * Ten major essays and 300 A-Z entries cover all aspects of slavery * Over 100 contributors represent the finest scholarship worldwide on the topic * An impressive collection of 150 original documents illustrate both popular and official attitudes toward slavery * The massive bibliography is the most complete and up-to-date available
Call Number: Annex ref E 441 .S635 2007 - can be requested
Publication Date: 2007-03-20
World of a Slave by This two-volume encyclopedia is the first to focus on the material life of slaves. * 178 A-Z entries on almost all aspects of the material culture of enslaved African Americans from the 17th century until 1865 * Contributions from a plethora of scholars, curators, artisans, and archaeologists in the field * Sidebars including quotations from former slaves in which they describe the use and meaning of material objects * Period paintings, watercolors, photographs, and drawings that illustrate the material world of enslaved blacks * Photos of buildings, archaeological assemblages, and modern-day reproductions to illustrate specific entries * A thematic guide that helps users easily find related topics * Includes a substantial selected bibliography, including vetted websites
Call Number: Annex ref E 441 .W895 2011 - can be requested
Publication Date: 2010-12-13
Bibiographies & Handbooks
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowA scholar-curated library of subject bibliographies in the humanities & social sciences; each entry offers a guided tour through key literature on a topic.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowReview essays evaluating the current thinking on a field or topic. Articles review the key issues, reveal original arguments and concepts, and set the agenda for new research.
Get help from Esther Roth-Katz