Visual Arts and Humanities Librarian
Finding Images
- AP Images "AP Images gives you access to the world’s largest collections of historical and contemporary photographs, so you have all the imagery you need, right when you need it."
- Find Images GuideHelp finding and using images online, in print publications, and in Smith's unique special collections.
- Free Media Sources 2023The following sites are resources for media that is free to use in most circumstances. Despite being free, pay special attention to how each piece of media is licensed and follow the rules of usage for that license as described below.
- Library of Congress Prints & Photographs "While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people."
- National Museum of African American History & Culture (NIMAAHC) Collections Images of objects from the NMAAHC collection are now available to view, download, and share through a CC0 license
- Smith College Digital Collections Smith Digital Collections is a gateway to digital collections and online exhibitions unique to Smith College. The collections feature images, audio, video and text from multiple repositories and platforms. These include the Libraries’ Special Collections, the Museum of Art, the Imaging Center, the Botanic Garden and select scholarly collections.
Citing Images
To cite works of art using Chicago Style follow this standard, including as much of the information as you have available to you:
Artist Last Name, Artist First Name. Title of Work of Art in Italics. Date of Creation. Medium. Location of the Work. URL [if applicable]
Example:
Van Vechten, Carl. Portrait of James Baldwin. September 1955. Photograph. Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division Washington, D.C. https://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2004662552/