Start Here
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window A scholar-curated library of subject bibliographies in the humanities & social sciences; each entry offers a guided tour through key literature on a topic.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window Review essays evaluating the current thinking on a field or topic. Articles review the key issues, reveal original arguments and concepts, and set the agenda for new research.
Maps - Online
Atlases in the Annex
The atlases below are housed in the Five College Annex during the Neilson Library renovation. Use Request Item in the Five College Library Catalog to request any of these titles.
- Atlas of Islam, 1800-2000Call Number: ref G 1786.S1 B5 2010
- Historical Atlas of IslamCall Number: ref G 1786 .S1 F7 2002
- Atlas of the Middle EastCall Number: ref G 2205 .N38 2008
- Penguin State of the Middle East AtlasCall Number: ref G 2205 .S6 2016
- Crossroads of War: A Historical Atlas of the Middle EastCall Number: ref G 2206.S1 B3 2014
- Historical Atlas of the Middle EastCall Number: ref G 2206 .S1 F7 1993
Encyclopedias - Online
Use
scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries, such as those below, for an
overview of your topic, definitions, a list of suggested readings, and
(sometimes) a lead on related primary source material.
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online This link opens in a new window Reference content & commentary by renowned scholars, plus Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps & timelines. Includes Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World and other core reference works on Islam.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam, 2nd. ed. (12 vols.)Call Number: ref DS 37 .E523
- Encyclopedia of Religion (16 vols.)Call Number: ref BL 31 .E46 2005
- Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa (4 vols.)Call Number: ref DS 43 .E53 2004
- Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Culture (5 vols.)Call Number: ref BP 173.4 .E538 2003
Encyclopedias in the Annex
The encyclopedias below are housed in the Five College Annex during the Neilson Library renovation. Use Request Item in the Five College Library Catalog to request any of these titles.
- Encyclopaedia of the Qurʼān (6 vols.)Call Number: ref BP 133 .E539 2001
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (2 vols.)Call Number: ref BP 40 .E525 2004
- Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion (2 vols.)Call Number: ref BL 458 .E53 1999
